Mathematical Monday 8-16-10

Time for another fun math fact on this mathematical Monday!

I’m good at math, but I’m crummy at memorization. Therefore, back in the day I used a number of tricks to do simple math. Here’s one of my favorites: nine times tables on you hands.

To do 9 x anything, you hold your hands out in front of you with fingers out. Then you count from left to right the number of anything and drop that finger. The answer is now in front of you! Count the fingers to the left of the one that’s bent, that number goes in the ten’s place. Count the fingers to the right, that number goes in the ones.

Here is a great video explaining it all to you!

Now you will never forget these, or at least you won’t need to memorize them!

How-To Be a Multilingual Memer

I am a geek and a scientist. Most of my fellow labmates are neither geeks nor Americans. Oftentimes, that means that I make lots of references that they don’t get. So, recently, Dawn and I started trying to translate some of our favorite memes into other languages to try and relate to my labmates. Here are a few examples you can use to help initiate some of your international friends into the geek life! Enjoy my badly MS Paint adjusted versions of some these favorites.
O Rly, Ya Rly
French: oh vraiment, ouais vraiment

More

August 2010
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031