How-To Be a Multilingual Memer

I am a geek and a scientist. Most of my fellow labmates are neither geeks nor Americans. Oftentimes, that means that I make lots of references that they don’t get. So, recently, Dawn and I started trying to translate some of our favorite memes into other languages to try and relate to my labmates. Here are a few examples you can use to help initiate some of your international friends into the geek life! Enjoy my badly MS Paint adjusted versions of some these favorites.
O Rly, Ya Rly
French: oh vraiment, ouais vraiment

I can has cheezburger
Russian: я могу имею cheeseburger


All your base are belong to us
Spanish: toda su base es pertenece a nosotros

Double Rainbow! OMG! So intense!
Chinese: 雙重彩虹! 哦 艾马 吉! 很強烈的!

Your stupidity, it’s over 9000!
Japanese: あなたの愚かさ、それは9000にある

My pokemans: let me show you them
Italian: I miei pokemans: lascilo voi mostrarlo

Now, for the conclusion. My husband and Dawn have a habit of breaking into this one almost every day when they are together (which recently has been a lot since Dawn stayed with us for the last month). It also translates relatively easily, because The Who is understood in many languages, and Caruso’s puns are funny in none of them!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ladymorgue
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 19:13:13

    weeee! But then it gets tricky when trying to explain humor in a different language.

    Reply

  2. Three Years of Roses
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 17:21:48

    If I hadn’t already seen this (http://www.geeksaresexy.net/2010/08/22/vaders-new-girlfriend-pic/), then this post would be my favourite thing on the internet today!

    I may be printing a picture of the O VRMNT owl… O_o

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
