Brain Training Doesn’t Work? A Critique.

You’ve probably seen the newest big headline in gaming: Brain Training Games Don’t Work. I haven’t seen too much of the discussion on this, but I’m sure there are people on both sides of the aisle. People who adored their Brain Age and Brain Age 2 games and played them constantly. Perhaps fans of Professor Layton teaching that “every puzzle has an answer” would disagree. On the other hand, I’m sure many people can’t possibly see how adding numbers really fast changes anything about your intelligence. Well, I see something like this, and suddenly the scientist in me jumps out and wants to read the research and find out what it actually says before making a decision. Well, I did that, and I’ve got my decision here for you all to read. More

Top Ten Geek Dates

If you are a geek, it is likely that you would be interested in dating another geek. Or more likely, your common geek interests would drive you together. Either way, two geeks on a date opens up possibilities far beyond those of your typical dinner-and-a-movie variety. Therefore, today’s top ten list is a set of suggestions for the best possible geeky dates. Many of these are tested by me and my husband, who’s first real date involved Night of the Living Dead (if that’s not geek cred …). If the person you’re dating doesn’t like these ideas … it’s possibly time to find yourself a real geek! Hey, current couples, you might try these out as date nights too! I still love a good geeky movie night with my sweetie. More

April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930