Top Ten Instruments for Music Geeks

 

So I’m learning to play the accordion. I know, can it get any geekier? Not according to some people, it can’t! I’m playing with a full-size one that a friend owns right now, but I’m looking to buy a small one (25 keys, 12 buttons) on ebay for practice purposes. I have not yet tried Birdhouse In Your Soul: next week, I promise. Anyway, being a music geek, I was thinking about some of the crazy instruments music geeks enjoy, and I realized that there are a lot that I like, including a few that I play. Therefore, I present my favorite geeky instruments to you in no particular order!
**Just a note. I avoided instruments used in Natania’s post on GeekDad for variety!

 

Didgeridoo
Isn’t that the greatest name for an instrument? The didgeridoo is essentially a long wooden pipe of various lengths and types indigenous to Northern Australia. There are no valves or holes or anything so pitch adjustments are all made from the players voice and throat, although it mostly produces a drone. One of the cool things about the didgeridoo is that people have modernized it and I have seen performances on instruments made from PVC pipes. Here’s a good example of a modernized didgeridoo.

More
April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930