Geek Crush: Wil Wheaton

When I was about 10, I fell in love with Wil Wheaton. Okay, technically, I fell in love with Wesley Crusher. I don’t understand what girl wouldn’t fall for him. Wesley was adorable, super smart, funny, and always trying to help everybody. How would I have ever known when I was 10, however, that almost 20 years later the same guy I fell in love with would still be at the center of almost everything else I love? Being that today is the Girls Are Geeks one year anniversary, I could think of no better Geek Crush to swoon over than the one who helped to lead me down my lifetime of geekiness and still continues today to find ways to make the geek girl in me squee with nerdy delight: Wil Wheaton.

Yes, my history with Wil is extensive. I watched Star Trek: The Next Generation every chance I got. I adored episodes such as Justice where Wesley almost got the death penalty for crushing some alien plants and Coming of Age where he just missed getting into Starfleet Academy. I was so excited to see him return in The First Duty, and was thrilled when he finally went off with the Traveler in Journey’s End. I even wrote an ST:TNG script that was Wesley centered for some kind of class project. These were the days before I was aware there was a world of fanfiction or I’m sure I would have been in the thick of that as well.

For a few years, my love took a backseat to other things in my life. I finished high school, went to college, and met myself a wonderful geek boy. Now, he was made aware early on that my first love was and always would be Wil Wheaton, but he seemed okay with that. Actually, it was sometime early in our relationship that my loving boyfriend found and bought for me Wil’s book Just A Geek and showed me his blog: Wil Wheaton dot Net (WWdN; now in exile). I devoured both the book and blog in short succession and quickly renewed my love. That also cemented this particular boyfriend as a keeper.

I quickly learned that Wil had grown up since I remembered him in his cute little Cadet uniform, but that he still had many wonderful qualities and even more than I recalled! It seemed that Wil now was a writer (and a damn good one!), a father, and a gamer. He enthralled me with the tales on his blog of his life. Interestingly enough, I began to see many parallels between Wil and my boyfriend who had rekindled my childhood geeklove. If my boyfriend told me something, I would often see it on WWdN soon after, or if Wil said something, my boyfriend would show it to me the next day. For bonus points, his name is Bill (yes, short for William). I know: creepy, but awesome.

Today, Wil is an outstanding representative of the geek community. He still blogs, often about timely and important subjects such as voting, fundraising for cancer and puppies, and stupid people in movie theaters. He has given keynote addresses at both PAX and PAX East, during the former of which he used the phrase “Don’t be a dick” which has since becomes Wheaton’s Law. He has his own Woot shirt, and it is glorious. He has written more books, some about his life and most recently some of his own fiction. He has had recurring guest roles in geek related franchises including The Guild and Eureka and geek adjacent franchises such as Leverage. He’s so cool that he plays himself, well, evil himself, in The Big Bang Theory.

About that little crush: my love for Wil remains unrequited since Wil found Anne. Anne is clearly the smartest woman in the world because she married Wil just about 11 years ago. She brought with her two young boys who were then granted the opportunity to grow up in the same household as the greatest geek role model they could have. They seem to have done well for themselves! I’m okay, though, I married the boy who bought me my original copy of Just A Geek, so I think I did pretty well for myself. My husband also brought me to PAX East 2010 where I finally (20 years in the making!) met the man, Wil Wheaton, himself and got my very own Wil signature.

So, to sum up my love for Wil Wheaton: Wil is a fully genuine, no excuses geek who cares about the geek community and the greater world community. Wil understands gamers, scifi geeks, and Venn Diagrams among other things. He knows how to play an awesome game of DnD, how to write a beautiful story, and how to enjoy a good scotch. Wil is truly a geek worth looking up to and a geek worth crushing on. That is why Wil Wheaton is the only appropriate Geek Crush for our one year anniversary. Keep up all the great work, Wil. We will always love you!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Avalyn
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 18:41:07

    I liked Wil Wheaton on the Fox Kids Club show before I ever saw him in Star Trek. Actually that might have been before he was even ON Star Trek? It was so long ago I can’t even find anything about it on Bing or Google.

    Reply

  2. scarywhitegirl
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 15:20:17

    One of my best memories is the night that ST:TNG premiered. I was, of course, watching it because Wil Wheaton was on it. My dad was a Trekkie, and he was thrilled that his oldest daughter was FINALLY interested in Star Trek. The power in our neighborhood went out, so my dad hooked up a mini TV in the van, and we watched the pilot episode on about 5 inches of screen. Still, it was awesome. 🙂

    Reply

  3. CraftyGeekGirl
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 16:06:09

    Wow, I was just thinking about how Wil was my first real crush, (whether celebrity, geek or other) back before I even knew what a crush was. I have several fond memories of sneaking episodes of TNG to see him because my mother didn’t approve of SciFi. It’s nice to see I’m not the only one he influenced into the Geeky Ways.

    Reply

  4. Megan aka Wanna Be A Country Cleaver
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 10:33:32

    This officially made my Friday. I had the biggest crush on Wil Wheaton on StarTrek when I was growing up. My mom was a self proclaimed Trekkie. And now – I’m absolutely loving his guest appearances on The Big Bang Theory.
    Also, I’m having a giveaway on my blog this week for a 12″ covered casserole dish from World Market. I do so hope you will stop by and find out how to enter 🙂 All the Best, Megan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
