Happy Birthday … to us!

Just about anyway! On March 30th, 2010, I posted our very first post Fangirls Don’t Wear Pink and got this whole whirlwind of the last year of my life started.

It has been an incredible year. Through this blog, we have met so many wonderful people, fabulous geeky women and men, and really explored, I think, the breadth of geekdom from a number of different angles. From a numerical standpoint, in a year we went from nothing to averaging 150 hits and 100 unique visitors a day. We have over 1500 of you following my rants and links on twitter. We have published 280 posts and 14 original Venn Diagrams. Whew!

#15: Sisters and geeks are an overlapping Venn Diagram on this blog!

Of course, one of the best parts of the last year has been being involved in the slow but persistent geek girl takeover of the world. Since I wrote my original rant, it has been great to see the creation of www.geekmom.com, a slew of new women’s Nintendo shirts (even decent pink ones!), and better cuts and designs for women’s Penny Arcade T-shirts (thanks Erica!). I just came back from PAX East with a woman keynote speaker and a woman in the final round of the Omegathon. We live in a world where Felicia Day is one of Time’s top celebrities to follow on Twitter. If that’s not inspiration for all aspiring geek girls out there, I don’t know what is!

So, to celebrate our birthday we are going to give you gifts! We feel so lucky to have each and every one of you as readers, we want to give four of you a chance to have some luck of your own with your very own Lucky Capacitors from our friends at Girl Geek Boutique.

Here’s how to earn some chances to win these beautiful little lucky charms:

For one entry: leave a comment here telling us what your favorite post on the blog was OR a new topic that you would like to see us tackle (or both, but only one entry!).
For a second entry
: tweet about us! Make sure you have @girlsaregeeks and a link to the blog in your tweet so I’ll find it.

The contest ends Friday at midnight, and I’ll be in California that evening, so it can end at midnight Pacific time.

***UPDATE: CONTEST IS CLOSED, WINNERS ANNOUNCED MONDAY!

The purpose of this blog was for it to be a safe place to get together and geek out about whatever your passion may be, and I’d like to think we’ve done that. Thanks so much everyone, and here’s to the next great geeky year!

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura Baran
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 17:20:37

    I just found you guys, but I’m a big fan of string theory and lego AFOL events. How bout that, or instructables?

    Reply

  2. faithsweatandtears
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 17:34:19

    It is difficult to pick just one favorite post, but I love the Venn Diagrams!

    Reply

  3. Kirsten
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 17:35:47

    I love your geeky etsy finds. My favorite one so far is the Dreampunk one!

    Reply

  4. Hanna
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 19:24:52

    Happy blog birthday!
    I too like seeing all your fun Etsy finds, as well as reading about your personal geeky adventures (cons and the like).

    Reply

  5. Eleni
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 20:05:38

    I love the Mathematical Monday posts! Always nice to know that other people think math is fun 🙂

    Also that post on Continuity, since I had fun playing it and introducing it to other people, and I wouldn’t have found it if it weren’t for you.

    Reply

  6. Mary Beth
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 22:06:59

    I just found you recently. I’m enjoying the etsy/artsy posts.

    Reply

  7. girl geek boutique
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 13:35:48

    Happy Birthday and good luck to everyone in the contest! Nobody should ever be without their Lucky Capacitor. >^-^<

    – Megan ("Captain Girl Geek")

    Reply

  8. Holland
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 14:41:09

    I’d like to see you review webcomics that feature strong female protagonists (Girl Genius, Skin Deep, and Digger are a few that come to mind). Like, an entry on ones you recommend. Or favorite female webcomic characters.

    Or maybe an interview with Chris Dee, author of the fanfic series Cat Tales?

    Reply

  9. Nicole Angell
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 15:19:39

    There is no way I can pick a favorite post has been, but I do love charts and science posts. I also love the unusual items you find and tell us about (even my own!)
    http://www.enchantedcraft.etsy.com
    http://www.zibbet.com/enchantedcraft

    Reply

  10. girl geek boutique
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 16:00:55

    By the way, if you’d like to read about the mysterious and epic powers of the girl geek boutique Lucky Capacitor, you can do so here:
    http://girlgeekboutique.com/lucky_capacitor.html#geek_version

    Reply

  11. Holly
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 09:05:08

    I love your cooking hacks and the etsy finds! Great site, keep up the awesome geek girl work. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Laura Baran
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 14:08:01

    Good luck on your interview! You’ll do great.

    Reply

  13. TriGeekGirl
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 14:52:03

    I’m a biology/ecology geek (among other things, as the name implies) so I love all biology geek posts. Recently, though, the watercolor bacteria filled me with joy. I’m considering displaying one of the images next to my framed Photo 51….

    Reply

  14. Richard Mussler_Wright
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 15:24:41

    Best of luck with your interview. I am confident you will do awesome! -r

    Reply

  15. nwmcdn
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 19:38:58

    Venn diagrams fer shur!

    Reply

  16. Eleni
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 21:44:53

    Thanks for the Lucky Capacitor! It’s beautiful 🙂 Hopefully it will bring me good luck with all my technological endeavors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
