Geeky Etsy Find: Bacterial Soaps

As a microbiologist, I know the importance of good handwashing. However, when you check out the soaps I have to show you today, you might wonder whether you are adding or removing bacteria from your hands! I assure you, the answer is removing, but the detail in these bacteria inspired soaps is pretty impressive. Ah, the things you can buy on Etsy!

Red pigments make pretty bacteria

What do you make?

Soaps that are designed to look like bacteria growing in a petri dish, as well as soaps shaped like red blood cells.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

I’m Sara, and I’m a pharmacy student from Houston, Texas.  The idea for the petri dish soaps had just struck me one day while I was studying for classes.  After I had discovered that no one had made them yet, I quickly dove into the art of soap making, and began testing out some ideas.  From that moment on, it has evolved into the product line that I offer today.

What makes your items great for geeks?

The most obvious thing about these soaps is they’re immediate conversation starters.  They would definitely spark anyone’s interest if they had seen them lying in your bathroom… That is, of course, unless you regularly have plates of bacteria just incubating near your bathroom sink.

The great thing about them though, is that they’re all modeled after real species of bacteria.  What you see in soap form is actually very similar to what you would see growing in an actual dish of that particular strain of bacteria.  So, they’re also a bit educational as well!  The soaps also come with a label that includes some interesting information about that particular strain of bacteria.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

I’d say that as a pharmacy student, I’m very much interested in anything to do with science, but especially infectious diseases and medicine.  With that, comes all sorts of geekiness!  I also love funny things that have a dual meaning behind them, or take a little extra thought to figure out.  It definitely adds to the hilarity!

Need a transfusion? Try lemon-lime!

So, the next time you want to make people visiting your home wonder just a little bit what you do in your spare time, grab a few of these Petri dishes and leave them lying around your kitchen and bathroom sink. I know I just might!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hanna
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 12:14:50

    Love!

    Reply

  2. HimThatIs
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 21:56:04

    I like it, but this would not go well with my hypochondriac friends and a couple moms. Then again, it would be worth it to wig them out. Plus the dads might chase the kids with them.

    Reply

  3. Spring
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 19:37:02

    That soap is possibly the most original soap I’ve seen out there. Kudos to the creator!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
