Geek Crush: Mark Sheppard

Sometimes, you run across a guest actor who is simply incredible and amazing. Then, you run into them again, and again, and again. This is the character actor on all your favorite geeky shows. They probably spend a fair amount of in or around Vancouver. Then you start to follow them on twitter. Then you find out that they are fans of other geeky shows you watch and things you do. Then, you realize that somewhere along the line you have fallen in love.

Yup, it’s time for another Geek Crush, and today I am crushing hard on the man, the myth, the legend: Mark Sheppard.

The Man.

My love affair with Mark Sheppard began on Battlestar Galactica, when he appeared as the crazy lawyer Romo Lampkin. It was easy to see that Sheppard was an incredible actor as he really took to the role even as Romo changed throughout the final seasons. Also, his performance in the cat episode was stellar!
I'd let him cross-examine me any day!
Upon doing some “Man, I love that guy!” research, I also discovered that one of Sheppard’s earliest roles was from one of my favorite shows of all time: The X-files. He was in “Fire”. He’s also done bits in Sliders, ST:Voyager, a two-episode role in Firefly, and Dollhouse, so he’s got the geek circuit pretty well covered. He was also great in 24 and Leverage, shows I watched. It was a treat when I finally jumped on Warehouse 13 to see him there as well, although, not for terribly long. His most recent role was as a top level demon on my current favorite show: Supernatural, and he has episodes of Doctor Who coming out this year.

He is just on Fire!

He plays a lot of bad guys, or at least creepy and strange and not sure if they are good or bad guys. He does that incredibly well, and I think that’s one of the reasons I fell so hard for him. You can clearly see that Sheppard’s bad guys have their own motivations, their reasons, and really, their own justifications for what they do. His characters are never black or white, they have depth. I like depth. I also like good acting and British accents.

So, he can play the geek roles on the geek shows, but does that a geek make? Well, he was particularly excited about booking Doctor Who, so I figured there must be more to the man than a handful of creepy characters in space. I began to follow him on twitter, where he mostly talks about roles he’s playing and things he’s filming. Then, a quick internet search turned up just the thing that makes a geek girl’s heart flutter: a interview with him on Newsarama! Let me just hit the highlights: he’s a comic reader, a first person shooter and specifically Call of Duty player, and he honestly loves scifi. My geek heart be still!

I've died and gone to Hell, so long as Crowley is still there!

As you can see, Mark Sheppard is my kind of geek. He’s in my favorite shows, he likes geeky things, and he plays the same games as my husband … hmmmm …

Oh, and he has four dragon tattoos! Dragon! Tattoos!

I'm not sure what's more sexy, him or the dragon!

That’s why Mark Sheppard is this month’s Geek Crush! Now, if someone could just get me to a Supernatural Convention with him as Crowley, Richard Spreight Jr. and Jared Padalecki I would be in absolute heaven. (Who’s getting on that for me?)

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 11:44:49

    I him. Can’t wait to see him on Dr Who and I really hope he’s only mostly dead on Warehouse 13 and they bring him back next season 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jenn
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 11:45:37

    Oops, that should say “I love him.”

    Reply

  3. Greg Christopher
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 12:01:08

    His Firefly appearances were awesome. He made a great punk villain.

    Reply

  4. Joanna
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 14:02:01

    We were watching him on Leverage the first time and DH & I kept saying, “Who is he?’ to each other. Then he says something about, “You think you’re better than I,” and I shouted out “Badger!”. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Eleni
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 19:19:23

    Yay, Mark Sheppard! I first saw him in Firefly, but I didn’t really take notice until I saw him again on BSG. That’s when I figured out how awesome he is. Now I squee when I see his name listed in a show’s guest star credits. In addition to Dollhouse, I’ve also seen him on Chuck and White Collar. Also saw him on Bionic Woman, but we can forget about that show.

    Reply

  6. Sandra
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 20:09:11

    I love Mark Sheppard! I’m *finally* going to be able to meet him in March at Chicago’s C2E2 convention. I am taking the train all the way from Rochester, NY just to meet Mark. I first saw him on TV many years ago in “The X-Files” (1993) and “M.A.N.T.I.S.” (1995) and loved him in both. I’ve seen him on other things over the years but didn’t know his name or pay much attention to him until he appeared as Romo on “Battlestar Galactica”. I became an instant “Superfan” and have followed his career and supported him in it ever since. (Hi Mark). So check out my “Mark Sheppard Fans” website at http://www.marksheppardfans.net and there is also a link on the first page to the Facebook group as well. Be sure to check out the video page, you’ll find a link to that episode of “M.A.N.T.I.S.” as well as other videos on there.

    Reply

  7. Ruth
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 10:59:11

    I love him! Though he’ll always be Badger to me. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Tony
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 14:12:49

    Yea, this is a funny post. I also have seen him all over and actually met him too. He is everywhere and nowhere all at the same time!

    Reply

  9. trix
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 20:03:49

    hey,fellows!I’m glad I found this place.I need help.it’s the IMDb page of Mark, go like it on the right side,I would like to do a little promotion and raise that ‘166 likes’ number!Every like will be appreciated I know :} http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0791968/ and I know that this link’s up on some site,but I just can’t see enough activity.So go fans,because he’s the best n I think he doesn’t get enough attention! :}
    oh well, and… HIS HAND’S BURNIN! D: I know, actually not his HAND what’s burning but…yay. wow.

    Reply

  10. Neeni
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 16:43:03

    I admit to having a huge geek crush on Mark Sheppard…and also Richard Speight Jr. and Jared Padalecki, so if there ever where a convention with them within my area, I would die before missing it. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
