Math Monday: Square Root, No Calculator

My Dad apparently thought it was fun to teach me random math skills at a young age. When I was 8 or so, he taught me basic algebra. When I was about 11, I learned the quadratic equation, including aspects of its derivation. When I was 14, he taught me how to solve square roots on paper. This skill became surprisingly useful because I had a high school chemistry teacher who insisted that you couldn’t pass her tests without a calculator, and I felt like that was a challenge. Interestingly enough, she also insisted that you couldn’t get an A in her class without studying. I won on both accounts, and part of that was my ability to do square roots.

Here, I show you stepwise how I do it. I’m not going to explain the process here because I like these to be quick, but there is a good explanation to be found here.

Yes I have too much time on my hands

This techniques also makes an excellent timewaster. If you are ever bored, you just write a series of random numbers and take the square root out as far as you can without driving yourself crazy. Try it with your birthday or home address.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 17:43:01

    I’m in awe…it’s all I can do to divide by two most days! Love your blog, by the way!

    Reply

  2. Christina
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 18:44:19

    I never knew that they could be done so easily… really neat post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
