Baking Hack: Gluten-Free Caramelized Onion and Apple Muffins

Yeah, I had fun in the kitchen this weekend. I’ve actually been reading Cooking for Geeks and it is inspiring me to try new and interesting flavor combinations. Now, onions and apples are not a new combination, I eat that on a regular basis with an extra sharp cheddar on top. However, I have never seen the combination in a muffin. I was originally considering cupcakes with a fromage blanc or chevre frosting, but ended up not, though there is a note about that at the bottom. Anyway, they are delicious, and here is what I made:

Apples and Onions ... in a muffin!

Caramelize one large sweet onion (about 4 inches in diameter) in palm oil. This involves chopping the onion into thin strips and sautéing it in 3 tablespoons of the oil (Spectrum shortening) with a few dashes of salt. You need to let it sit in the oil on medium to low heat for a very long time stirring only occasionally until the onions go completely brown. Chop these into little pieces.

Boil 1 sweet apple (macintosh) and 1/2 cup pitted dates. Puree this mixture and you should have a heaping cup of puree.

Dice another apple into small pieces.

Mix dry ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup each of flours: millet, sorghum, tapioca, quinoa, corn (or a premade blend, but I would add the 1/2 cup of corn flour to 2 cups of blend)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp xantham gum
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp all-spice

Mix wet ingredients

  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tbsp butter/oil of choice
  • fruit puree from above
  • 2 egg yolks (save the whites)
  • 1/4 cup water

Add dry ingredients to wet and mix well

Beat egg whites until fluffy, then fold into mixture.

Fold diced apple and onions into mixture

Spoon into muffin tins and bake at 350 for 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clear. The temperature is uncertain as I have been sugar testing my oven and either my sugar melts at lower temperatures, or my oven runs quite hot, in which case, try a slightly higher temperature or a longer time.

I originally filled these with fromage blanc before baking, but the fromage blanc mostly melted in the oven. I’m considering frosting them with it instead because I like the idea of a sharp cheese flavor with this but I think cheddar is too savory. You could probably also spread cream cheese on them and that would be good.

You’ll notice there is no added sugar other than the apples, dates, and onions. They aren’t particularly sweet, but sweet enough for me. They definitely have a particular combination of flavors and some people liked them a lot and other hated them. If you like sweet and savory combinations, you will probably like these.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
