Geeky Etsy Finds: Computer Jewelry

There is nothing like finding a fabulous piece of jewelry, and getting something geeky at the same time! Well, here is a shop of lots of pretty and sparkly things that you can wear made from old computer parts. I just love that kind of craftiness. Check it out!

Clone Hardware
What do you make?

Upcycling computer parts from both new surplus items or retrieved parts from computer and electronic waste, I create unique pieces of jewelry and accessories such as earrings, necklaces, bracelets, brooches, headbands and keychains.  Clone Hardware specializes in kick ass industrial, ultra cool steampunk, super spiffy pretty and simply modern hardware.

Who are you and how did you get started?

After university (several thousand years ago) I decided to pursue a career in graphic & web design. But during the years of slaving / working in that field my creative energy was being slowly stifled.

Then one day I stumbled into the warehouse of a computer recycling business with boxes and shelves filled with beautiful and unique baubles, bits and pieces I had a lightbulb moment. I had never really been interested in conventional jewelry and with all these lovely and interesting things within my grasp I became inspired and empowered to create.

By creating beautiful and unique pieces of wearable art out of what would otherwise end up in landfill, I hope to educate. Our landfills are still being overloaded with these products. It’s up to us to dispose of them properly and try to reverse some of the adverse effects on the environment created by this modern waste.

What makes your items great for geeks?

My aesthetic is modern simple jewelry and accessories made from pieces of computer circuit boards, wires, hard drives, resistors and capacitors. With my personal love for computers, sci-fi, and all things wonderfully geektastic, I hope to show the beauty and artistry of what is inside these amazing technical wonders we sit infront of everyday.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

As I sit here in my star wars shirt and batman underwear …

I have always loved sci-fi. I remeber watching the Doctor Who OS & Star Trek with my parents as a kid. I read copious amounts of post apocolytic sci-fi – Margaret Atwood, George R. Stewart, John Wyndham. Plus zombie books – David Wellington, Brian Keene. Otherwise, i’m a complete sucker for sci-fi tv – star trek, firefly, buffy, BSG. I was just lamenting about the giant void in my sci-fi tv life. sadly, nothing good shows in Canada anymore.

And of course I LOVE ripping apart computers.

 

Who wouldn’t want a circuit board heart to wear, right? Here is your chance to upgrade from computer geek to classy computer geek. I say do it!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Greg Christopher
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 11:12:46

    I don’t remember any rainbow cables. I must have missed out on the cool components of the 80s or something. By the time I started meddling in the guts of computers, it was all a bland gray. Lame!

    I want rainbow components back!

    Reply

  2. Jen
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 11:38:38

    Amazing! I wonder why I didn’t think of it…then again I’m better at writing than arts and crafts. 😉 Thankfully I think I have a few spare parts around the apartment. I’m going to try this out.

    I agree with Greg, those rainbow components need to make a comeback.

    Reply

  3. corina
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 12:17:02

    I love that Clone Hardware’s jewelry is keeping stuff out of the landfill! It amazes me that the inside of a computer can be made into something so styling.

    Reply

  4. Megan
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 12:18:40

    Beautiful! I can totally relate to the joy of ripping apart computers and electronics. >^-^<

    I wonder how you cut your circuit boards into such beautiful shapes, though! The best I can manage is rounded rectangles, lol. I tried a scroll saw but that was a rather epic fail…not to mention the fact that very sharp power tools + my sad lack of coordination = bad combo. 😛

    – Megan

    Reply

  5. GN
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 13:36:36

    I love the disclaimer – for responsible non-jewelry eating adults 😀

    Also, these are gorgeous! Those blue dangle earrings are super tempting…

    Reply

  6. Amy Erickson
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 13:02:56

    That’s really cool! My mom has a circuit board clipboard that she uses and loves.

    I actually work for an electronics recycling company and some of the employees made a Christmas tree out of old circuit boards.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
