Cooking Hacks: Gluten-Free Gingersnaps

According to twitter, there a number of people who would be interested in gluten-free baking recipes. Well, I’ve been glut
en-free for the last two years and I love to bake and I’m a scientist, so I’ve been playing with gluten-free baking for a while. Therefore, I figured when I do something great, I’ll go ahead and post it here for you!

So, I had dried sugar-coated ginger sitting around, and decided that I should make gingersnaps out of it. Now, I’m not only gluten-free, but I try to eat low-sugar due to a minor medical issues and a family history of diabetes, so I tend to make a lot of changes to what seems like a typical recipe.

Anyway, enjoy my cooking hacking!

Smiley's okay, but watch out for Ginger: Ginger snaps!

I'm not a food photographer but I play one on this blog

Gluten-Free Gingersnaps, an original recipe

Ingredients:

2 cups flours blend: I use equal parts tapioca, sorghum, and millet flours. Tapioca for crispyness, millet for protein and body, and sorghhum is a nice light filler. A pre-made blend would also work, but I find mine to taste better.

2 tablespoons corn starch

1 tsp xantham gum

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup pitted dates

3/4 cup pumpkin puree (mine was homemade)

1/2 cup coconut oil (butter would probably work too, but I often end up dairy free since many gluten-free people are also dairy free)

1 egg

1 tbsp cinnamon

1/3 tsp each of ginger, allspice, cloves, nutmeg

1/2 cup chopped dried, sugar coated ginger

I soaked the dates in boiling water for about 10 minutes until they are soft and then I throw them in the food processor with the pumpkin. This is your sweetener.

Mix all the dry ingredients together (flours, corn starch, xantham gum, baking soda, and spices)

Add the puree and coconut oil and mix well, then add the egg and make sure it is well blended.

Fold in the chopped ginger. This means stir it in carefully to distribute the pieces without breaking them up by excessive stirring. You literally pick up large sections of batter and fold them over each other.

Put about a tablespoon sized ball on a cookie sheet. They don’t spread far so you can place them closer together. Bake at 375 (I set my oven to 350, but it runs hot because the sugar test melted the sugar!) for 6 minutes, then flatten the cookie with a fork, then bake for another 8 minutes.

Okay, that’s my cooking hack. I hope you all enjoy these!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Paul
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 08:57:41

    Nice hack!

    So the trick here is all about folding gingerly … got it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
