Geeky Etsy Finds: Cat Toys!

In today’s Etsy find, we have toys. The coolest part about these toy: they are mostly for cats! Just in case you ever wanted your pet to be as geeky as you, you can introduce them to the right hobbies with toys in the shape of something related to your fandom. A little catnip, and your furry friend will be tossing the dice around with you. Check out GEEKitty and what she’s got for you today!

GEEKitty

What do you make?

I make geek-themed cat toys.  I’ve tried to cover as many nerdy bases as possible: video games, geeky TV shows, internet memes, and general dorkiness. I try to limit myself to one toy per geek theme: a snitch for Harry Potter fans, a Slurm can for Futurama fans, a Gameboy for… well, for Gameboy fans.  My toys are all hand-made and stuffed with plenty of catnip, although I’m more than happy to omit the ‘nip if the toy is for a dog, a baby, or for the purchaser.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

I guess the very start is that I have always sewn – I’ve done cross-stitch since 6th grade, and I get antsy watching TV without something in my hands.  My best friend got a cat, and when I went on to Etsy to find her something suitably silly, it occurred to me that I could totally make her a toy myself!  I bought all the materials and had a lot leftover, so I asked some friends if there was any plush toy they’d like.  One friend asked me for a toy for his Roomba, which had to be the nerdiest thing I’d ever heard, so to go with his RPG obsession, I made a D20 – then I realized THAT was the nerdiest thing I’d ever heard.  When I started to think about it, I realized that a lot of my geeky friends had cats, and here I was with a cubic yard of polyfill stuffing and catnip. When I fortuitously became unemployed, I had a brainstorming session with my boyfriend and took the plunge onto Etsy.  My first customer was my mom, because I’m cool like that.

What makes your items great for geeks?

You’ll have to excuse me, I tend to wax rhapsodical on this subject.  But cats and geeks have been intertwined since time immemorial.  I don’t know whether it’s because they’re low maintenance, they’re good indoor pets, or if they’re just so suited to lol-captions, but NERD + KITTEH = TRU-LUV 4 EVA!  Plus, all pet owners like to think that our pets have the same interests as us – and what’s cuter than watching your cat wail on his own Rock Band guitar while you try to five-star the new Johnathan Coulton tune?

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

I am so lucky to have my boyfriend around to bounce my ideas off of, because I’m more of a nerd than I am a geek.  He’s my reference for video games, superheroes, and Lovecraftian lore.  Personally, I’m into typography, crossword puzzles, Rock Band and karaoke, Japanese food, sewing, and – of course – teh kittehz.  And as long as I’m listing my geekiness, I also have to give a quick shout-out to my lady-cat, Professor Plum, and my boyfriend’s cat, Dr. Batman.


There you have it! Get the whole household involved in the geekdom by adding the cat. Don’t forget, if you want a catnip free version for a mini-geek or even a shelf, that can also be done. Go head, buy some cat toys!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dunkie
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 13:49:57

    yes! i own a couple of GEEKitty’s toys (a WoW inspired mana potion chief amongst them), and I don’t know who has more fun playing with it, me or my kitten friends!

    Reply

  2. donnieji
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 15:24:20

    my egyptian mau (is that a a geek breed?) is recovering from asthma and I can’t wait until he is well enough to roughhouse with his GEEKitty toys. They are hierogeeklyphic!

    Reply

  3. ur1stcustomer
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 15:50:38

    My kitties have loved your clever GEEKitty toys since DAY 1. Keep up the geekiness, girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
