Mathematical Monday: Doodling

For a long time, I was crummy at taking notes, so most of what I did in class was doodle. Now, I’m pretty far from an artist, so most of my doodles were just lines instead of pictures or other such things. Interesting thing about it all was that the more I doodled, the more I discovered interesting patterns in my little drawings. Specifically, I doodle symmetrically. It’s actually pretty amusing that I will make things like a series of little triangles or a diamond with an extended pattern coming off of it. I counted the pieces, and made sure there were even numbers of things like short and long lines and curved lines.

Life, art, math, it all comes together.

I recently saw this post on GeekMom, and was surprised to see lots of aspects of my little doodles in this post about math and art. Particularly, the exponential function one is just like something I would have doodled!

Here’s something I did while playing DnD recently. I was looking for old ones, but I think most of my notebooks are packed away.

Scientists shouldn’t be allowed to draw.

Anyone else out there doodle logically and symmetrically, creating a series of patterns instead of pictures?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ang
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:33:33

    My doodles look like the scroll-work and stuff at the top of your website. With dots and flowers and curly-cues. The top and sides of tests and worksheets always looked like that. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Budd
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:43:07

    In one picture you made math more interesting than any math teacher I have ever had. thanks! wait, what was the math again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
