Geeky Etsy Finds: The Space Invader Soap Edition

We here at Girls Are Geeks firmly believe in cleanliness, therefore, I have for you on Etsy today: soap! These soaps are so much fun, you won’t want to put them in the shower! Just be careful not to say any bad words like the kid from A Christmas Story, or you might end up eating some space invaders!

DigitalSoaps

Even the cat wants to play with the soapWhat do you make?

I make soap shaped like video game controllers and other geeky gadgets.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

My name is Chrystal Doucette. I invented soap shaped like video game controllers and other electronics on a whim. My business, DigitalSoaps, was founded on Jan. 1, 2009. My first soaps included mice, keyboards, computer monitors, PlayStation controllers, calculators, TV remotes, cell phones, and a chess set with a board and 3D pieces. Now I have a full line of video game controller and cartridge soaps.

What makes your items great for geeks?

My soaps appeal to geeks on many levels. The signature scent I use is Mountain Dew, a coveted drink for the gaming community. I also caffeinate my soap – giving geeks an incentive to bathe. In addition, the products are shaped like a geek’s favorite gadgets, and so these soaps showcase a geek’s interests.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

Some of my favorite geeky activities include: Walking my cat on a leash in the park, playing the flute, usability testing for Microsoft and playing games on NES. I enjoy computer games as well, and eagerly await Diablo III’s release. Soap making is sorta geeky too.

There you have it! Now, get clean and play games, in whatever order you prefer!

Space invaders need to stay clean too!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Chrystal Doucette
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 03:55:56

    Thank you for the great feature! I am grateful for the shout-out 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
