Geeky Etsy Find 12/9/10

So, it’s been quiet around here, I apologize. I’ve been out of town more than in town since before Thanksgiving, Dawn started a new quarter at school, and there’s just so much happening before the year ends! Anyway, just letting you know that I am back and trying to get things rolling again, starting with an awesome Etsy find!

Temple 7e

What do you make?

1. I make custom kokeshi dolls, known as The Kokeshi Clan.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

2. My name is Craig Galentine, 37, from Dayton, Ohio. I began making kokeshi dolls about 4 years ago. I was inspired by the more traditional Japanese kokeshi dolls that I had come across. I had some ideas for original designs, so I sought out and found suitable materials that had a nice size and shape that I liked and made a few. I was pretty happy with them and the ideas just kept flowing. Eventually I set up a shop on Etsy and received fantastic support and feedback. It just kinda snowballed from there. Over time my style and techniques have grown considerably.

What makes your items great for geeks?

3. I think that geeks love my work because I often create custom kokeshi versions of timeless characters that we all know and love. I just interpret them in an original way. I’ve made characters from Star Wars, Star Trek, Battlestar Galactica, etc. and have acquired quite an awesome Fan base for my work. My customers and fans are the best !

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

4. I’m a total geek. For one thing, I love toys. I collect everything from action figures to designer vinyl art toys. I love all things Sci-Fi and Kung Fu. I’m down with ninjas, and in my spare time you can find me on the Xbox 360.

Well, there you have some awesome and incredible little dolls, and still time before Christmas to get an order in!

Leave a Reply

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
