Geeky Etsy Finds 11/18/10

You like zombies? Of course you do! Who doesn’t like zombies? You know who doesn, plants! Today I have both sides of the game for you, some great zombie horror items and some incredible plants vs zombies figures. Check them out!

 

Dr. Strychnine

What do you make?

When people ask me this when I’m out a Star Trek convention I always answer with I make bloody coffee mugs. Wait for it… Wait for it… There it is, the raised eyebrow. Gets ’em everytime. Well yes, I make bloodied up coffee mugs but thats not all. My Etsy shop leans toward the geeky side of horror, featuring miniaturized Poison Bottle Necklaces with authentic reproductions of pharmaceutical labels. Filled with very close to the real thing, but totally non-toxic “poisons”. Strychnine, Arsenic, Deadly Nightshade are among the lot. All come with a corresponding fact sheet containing presentaion in humans and treatment. I also offer hand silk screened tees, all original designs and art, all leaning to the humorous and subversive side of horror and sci-fi. For example, “Frankies U-Pull-it”, a terrific Frankenstein’s monster inspired tee with an original drawing which is actually a tattoo on my forearm… we’ll get to that in a bit. Lots of horror movie quote mugs; The Exorcist, Nightmare on Elm Street, The Shining to name but a few, and a handful of comic villain inspired mugs as well.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

I AM DR. STRYCHNINE. I am a tattoo artist by night, the name of my tattoo shop is Dr. Strychnine’s House Of Horrors… I have adopted this persona after realizing my childhood dream of being a late night creature feature host weren’t gonna happen. So I decided to make something else very cool happen for myself. It started with having friends over and doing our own version of Elvira Mistress of the Dark, I came up with the name Dr. Strychnine and now even my friends call me Doc. It’s dorky, geeky, completely silly, and I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT! I always was a do it yourself-er, originally because I could never find the things I was into anywhere online. So why not make them for myself. When friends saw what I was doing they all instantly told me get a copyright and sell this stuff! So I did and it’s taken off.

What makes your items great for geeks?

I think the fact that I am a complete geek myself lends to no little detail being overlooked. So whether it be making sure a zombie mug has the “appropriate” amount of blood, a caffeine molecule being correctly drawn, or the “poison” in a necklace looking about as close to the real thing as possible, makes my shop the perfect home for the sci-fi/horror geek. I’ve always said, “If you get it, your gonna have to get it”. Amazingly lots of people “get it”.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

I am a huge fan of classic horror. The old Universal Monsters, Frankenstein, The Bride, The Wolfman, Creature from the Black Lagoon… I adore Vincent Price, maybe my favorite actor of all time. Also I love new, campy horror as well… Bride of Chucky, awesome in my book. I am one of the biggest comic book nerds you’ll ever meet with a collection nearing 5,000. I love Batman, more over The Joker. Always been a big fan of the villains in any series. Lobo, Lady Death, Judge Dredd, Vampirella, Darkeness, Captain America, The Punisher, oh the list goes on and on and on. My love of all things comic book has led me first to becoming a Proffessional Tattoo Artist and in gaining my confidence in my art skills I’ve crossed over into proffessional Comic art. I’ve worked Freelance for 2 years now for some overseas publishing houses and I am working on a gallery show near my hometown this coming January, pretty excited about that.

.

An Uncles Monkey

What do you make?

I make all sorts of things, because I am a professional prop assistant for feature films. But in my off time, I am always occupied with projects. I do home-renovation stuff on my newly acquired house. I lay tile and hang drywall and decorate and paint. It’s like living in a gigantic art project. And when I’m feeling less ambitious but more crafty, I make little doodads and trinkets — most of the time they’ve just been for my own amusement. These plants are the first time I’ve ventured out to sell the things I make.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

I have always been a painter, and as far back as there are pictures of me there are ones of me building mud sculptures or laying on the ground with crayons stuck between my toes, using my feet to draw on something. My mom fostered my love of art and always encouraged my artistic endeavors. She has a lot of natural art talent and I fully credit her for any ounce of creativity and art that is in me. But only recently did I discover the fun of sculpey. It really is an unbelievably agreeable modeling compound. It let’s you do almost anything you can picture, as long as you’ve got a good imagination and a little bit of an engineer’s mind (building a copper superstructure for inside a physically-unrealistic plant, for instance).

What makes your items great for geeks?

*I* make my items great for geeks–because it takes one to know one! 😉 I love playing games, even though I don’t have the time to play hardcore anymore (WoW ate a full year of my free time, when I used to have such a thing as free time). I’m familiar with a lot of the classics, and I try to dabble in any game that gets a good recommendation from friends, so I keep pretty up to date on what folks are playing. I think when you play a video game, you always develop a desire to look at / touch / the items in the game in real life. Looking at objects on a screen for hours on end, you can’t help but visualize what they would look like in the real world. There’s something so tantalizing about interacting with onscreen items but never being able to touch a tangible one. I’ve always been drawn to maquettes and sculptures of comic characters and video game items. I think that turning a video game item into a sculpture is the same sort of process as turning a book into a movie–it’s taking something that you’ve wrapped your imagination around and dragging it into an additional dimension. Books gain a 2nd dimension when they are turned into movies, movies (or video games) gain a 3rd dimension when they’re made into sculpture. It’s satisfying to bring them into a new space and experience them in a new way.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

First of all–geeky boys. I miss hanging with all the geeky guys, now that I’m an officially-recognized “adult” and have got to work around a bunch of normal folks. I enjoy comics of a variety of shapes and sizes. The webcomic “The Oatmeal” makes me snort with laughter sometimes at work. Barry Windsor-Smith’s “Weapon X” will always be my favorite comic book. My copy is so well-loved that the pages are sliding out of the book-binding glue. I love oddball art; Jay Ryan’s screen prints are fantastic. I believe that Blizzard produces unerringly-perfect video games. And yes, I am ballsy enough to admit it while shrouded in the anonymity of the internet. I own the entire “Star Trek: The Next Generation” series.

.

Mmmm, zombies!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Budd
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:45:47

    the zombie mug is such a simple idea that I wonder why I didn’t think of something like that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
