Geeky Etsy Finds 11-11-10

We’ve got a couple of different things for you in Etsy land today. Some things to make you feel like you are away in Lothlórien, hanging with the elves, and somethings to make you feel like you’re traveling through the final frontier with the Enterprise. Either way, they are wonderful crafty items! Check them out.

Merigreenleaf

What do you make?
Fantasy-inspired art and accessories is how I usually explain it- I make chainmaille and hemp jewelry, cartilage earrings/cuffs, costume accessories like elf ears and dragon horns, fantasy art dolls, runestones, and my latest idea is geeky keychains/cell phone charms (which I love because it means I get to buy a lot of multi-sided dice without having to hoard them- I’m like a dragon when it comes to dice!). This list is subject to change, though, because I’m always coming up with new ideas.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
I’m a 27 year old kid-at-heart from the Philly suburbs. My partner-in-crime is my wonderful fiancé who usually gets stuck with the less savory jobs, such as figuring out how to drill dice without them melting (D4s, I’m looking at you) or exploding (which is kind of awesome in an unfortunate way… purple D12, we hardly knew you) and running out to the craft store when I realize too late that I’m out of yarn (who knew men could find and purchase yarn correctly?). I’ve been making things all my life and took as many art classes as I possibly could in school (my favorite was pottery because it meant that I could make a mess), but my bachelor’s degree is actually in English; I did focus on literature, however, and that’s where I get a lot of my inspiration from: books and mythology. What really got me into making art as a business, though, was health problems. I’ve had to take time off from a “real” job for a while, so art keeps me both sane and gives me a little more financial support than I’d have without my craftiness.

What makes your items great for geeks?
If you like fantasy, I’m you’re girl. 😉 Most of the ideas I’ve come up with were because either I wanted something geeky or my geeky friends wanted something unique. (I wonder how many more times I can fit “geeky” into my answers?) Pretty much everything I make is geeky in some way because where’s the fun in making something normal? I don’t make things *specifically* geeky or fandom-related, but almost everything I make is inspired by fantasy or mythology in some way. That’s what my art muse wants, so that’s what the muse gets, flighty imp though she is.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
Fantasy, of course! I blame the fact that my dad read me “The Hobbit” when I was six- don’t most people spend much of their life wishing to be an elf? 😉 What other geeky things do I love… Lord of the Rings (obviously), fantasy books (Discworld’s my other favorite), literature (Renaissance plays are my genre of choice), Old English (one of these years I’ll become fluent in it- I figure it’s been dead for a very long time so I’m not missing anything by procrastinating), Renaissance faires (I love dressing in costume), Dungeons and Dragons, video games (I love Zelda, Smash Bros and puzzle games), and geocaching (hey, it’s geeky- treasure hunting *and* technology make for a good time). I also find that, try as I may to ignore my writing muse, I always come back to writing comedic fantasy. I just write for fun as I have no real goal of getting published, but maybe someday my fiancé and I will write a book and try to earn some money to justify all the time we’ve put into the fantasy world we created for writing and D&D games. Until then we’ll just be off exploding dice and trying to find yarn in Goblin-Yellow, I suppose. (Alas, the yarn companies refuse to give fiber names that I would find useful; there are also no Orc-Greens, Kobold-Oranges, Fuzzy-Hobbit-Feet-Brown or Pasty-Elf. They’re missing a valuable target demographic here, methinks.)

So to summarize: yes, I am in fact a geek, and yes, I’ve lost count of how many times I have used that particular word in my answers. 😉

.

Impulsive Creativity

Just don't drink the red one.

What do you make?
Anything and everything that comes to my mind. Well … at least I TRY. (I have a huge collection of “unfinished/need to be re-done” projects) I like to make different and unique items you won’t find in other stores. I know my items aren’t for everybody, but I make what I would wear/use, so at the end of the day, if no one else likes it, I’m still happy I made it!

Who are you and how did you get started?
My name is Rachelle, I’m a 30 yr old self-taught “creator”. I grew up in sunny New Mexico, where art and southwest culture are spewing from every adobe house and mountainous sunset. My first memory of making something on my own, (aside from mud pies), is a tepee I made when I was 4 yrs old. I made it out of sticks and toilet paper, and it was big enough for me to stand up in. I was a total tomboy and very much into nature. When I moved to New Jersey 7 years ago, I didn’t know anyone, so I spent A
LOT of time making things for family and friends back home. Before I knew it there was a whole room in my house dedicated to painting/crafting, so I decided I should try and sell some of the things I made (not thinking anyone would buy them). I made my first sale and fell in love with the idea of Etsy.

What makes your items great for geeks?
My items are great for the person that can appreciate the unusual. PLUS, most of my items are customizable, so they make great gifts for the person who has everything. I’ve made glasses in themes from Docto Who to Wonder Woman and I love a challenge!

What geeky stuff are you into?
The most frequently played Wii games in my house are: Legend of Zelda – Twilight Princess; Super Mario Bros.; Call of Duty – Modern Warfare; Harvest Moon; Xtreme Fishing. My husband, son, and I also love playing the simple family games, (Family Game Night, Wii Play, MarioCart).

.

So, now that you can complete your elven cosplay costume and pour yourself a perfect glass of Bloodwine or Romulan Ale, you should be set, at least for another week!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meri Greenleaf
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 11:46:46

    Thanks so much for featuring me! 😀

    Rachelle, I love those glasses- they’re so unique! And it sounds like you have the crafty-ADD going on, too. 😉

    Reply

  2. MissDeWorde
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 13:44:09

    Great findings!
    Sent both etsy urls to my star trek friends. way too cool!

    Reply

  3. Chelle
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 21:10:36

    So excited to be featured!!! Thank you Girls Are Geeks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
