Weekly Link Goodness 11-6-10

My weekend is already going crazy being that our car died yesterday and was fixed today, so I may not have a chance to play with the internet too much. However, for all of you who are hanging out on here, lots of great stuff for you!

Star Wars Re-Imagined in Lego – Who doesn’t love both Star Wars and legos? This version of it is really, really cute.

How to Brew Beer in a Coffee Maker – This was conceived by someone on a research sailing vessel for a few months, but it seems applicable to a variety of situations

Delicious Dip Recipes – Dawn really, really, really likes dips. Here are some fun and easy ones from Geek Mom!

Eight Great NES Levels – a video of Nintendo Legens’s favorite NES levels. Which are your favorites?

Voldemort Takes the Trains too! – Look what happens when Voldemort and the Death Eaters attack people in Grans Central Station. I made be switching to Penn the next time I go into the city.

Life in the Laboratory – Life Magazine’s gallery of science through the years. Especially appreciated by me since I am the Microbiologist.

Denis Bostandzic – This guys thinks of some really interesting things. Most recently, spoonachos, which if they came in  hint of lime would be perfect for tequila shots (right, Dawn!)

Okay, enjoy these links! Enjoy your weekend!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NintendoLegend
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 09:44:05

    Thanks for the shout-out! Looks like I have some other geeky links to check out, too (coffee/beer, Legos/Star Wars, what wonderful hybrids).

    Reply

  2. GN
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 17:11:45

    Okay, a little off topic from this post, but I stumbled across a link I thought you guys would love:

    http://girlgeekdinners.com/

    There’s a wikipedia page about women in computer science, and there’s a list of organizations aimed at women. And this one just jumped out at me. I’m amazed that it hasn’t caught on more in the US – and I love the number of groups in England and Italy!

    Reply

    • GirlsAreGeeks
      Nov 08, 2010 @ 19:39:49

      I’ve run across these ladies on flickr before for sure! It would be awesome to do here!

      Rosalind

      Reply

      • Gina
        Nov 08, 2010 @ 20:09:33

        The closest one to me is in Richmond, VA – and they don’t seem particularly active. It broke my heart to see that D.C. didn’t have one, it’s a totally reasonable drive, and I bet there’s a great contingent of geeky women there.

        I’d have to drag my friends there if there was one.

        Maybe I’ll have to start one up.

  3. gurlgonegeek
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 11:59:34

    I LOVED the Voldermort and Death eaters in Grand Central Station. I’m never there for the good stuff. Just the usual crazies

    Reply

Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
