Geeky Etsy Finds 11-4-10

Welcome to another round of awesome stuff you can find on Etsy to satisfy the geek in anyone! Today’s crafts are home sewn and gorgeous. Check them out!

Pecansandies

 

What do you make?

The items in my shop are pretty varied. I sew clothes, costumes, bags, toys, and aprons. I knit a little, too. I also do graphic design, which led to me having my own fabrics printed for messenger bags like this Tetris one.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

I’ve been crafting things since I was little, with varying degrees of success. I started sewing a lot more in the last couple of years, making clothes or bags for myself and gifts for friends. I opened my shop less than a year ago. Having the shop set up has really allowed me to branch out and try new things. I’m having a lot of fun with it.

What makes your items great for geeks?

While not everything in my shop is geared towards geeks, I have a few pieces that most could appreciate. Who hasn’t loved Tetris?

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

I’ve always had an unusual appreciation for math, I love the preciseness and certainty of it. I’ve been doing graphic and website design since I was about 12. I jump at any chance I get to make a spreadsheet. I like geocaching and using my telescope. As a work at home mom, I can’t find the time for things like Tetris anymore, but I am finding that I add a geeky touch to many things in my day to day life..formulating a knitting pattern, tinkering with baking recipes, drafting sewing patterns.

.

WTCrafts

What do you make?

Currently I am making soft videogame related crafts, including pillows, rugs, and blankets. As I continue to learn and master sewing skills hopefully I will add bags, cases, and wallets.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

Well, to start with, my name is Kiara, a 21 year old geek in the middle of juggling college, work, and achieving my artistic potential. As far as I can remember I have always had an artistic tendency, been extremely hard working, a bit of a perfectionist, and loved to learn. When you combine all of those characteristics you get me and my feverish need to create. I seriously believe that if you put your mind to something you can make it happen. That mindset and my ability to self teach is what brings my ideas into reality.

Graduation project back in highschool was the first time I truly pushed myself to make something from a videogame (it was a Dance Dance Revolution pad, arcade measurements). Years later after gaining various crafty technical skills I found Etsy, saw what the videogame section had to offer, and felt that I could bring some quality items to it with all I learned.

What makes your items great for geeks?

My items are great for geeks because my items help extend their passion for videogaming to their homes and beyond. A truly unique blanket or rug based on your favorite series can be the perfect fit for any game-room or bedroom. Many geeks like to show off their collections, and one of my items is something that can give a geek that competitive collecting edge.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

The biggest geeky thing I am into is actually Japanese culture. I love the Final Fantasy series (among other RPG’s)! I enjoy learning java, conventions, sewing, reading about ingredients, bad puns, computers, science, psychology, philosophy, and graphic arts just to name a few 🙂

.

There you have it! Just a taste of the incredible geekery of Etsy. I love that we have so many talented geeks!

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Budd
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 14:14:57

    love the NES pillow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
