Geeky Etsy Finds 10/14/10

Welcome all to that time in the week when I ask you to support your fellow geeks by opening your wallet, or paypal account page. We’ve got some great stuff this week, including a brief peek into a personal favorite from the archives that you may have missed! Both of our featured crafters are making goods for your home, so you can decorate in geek style. I always say to let your geek flag fly, and my home is one place where I love to do that. Let’s get started with something every geek needs: things to drink out of!

AradiaDiane


What do you make?

I make geeky home decor. Currently that includes primarily etched glass, but I also have a few candles and bar napkins available. 

Who are you and how did you get started?

I started making geeky home decor for myself about a year and a half ago. I really wanted Full Metal Alchemist dishes, but there wasn’t much available aside from a plastic cup. I turned thirty in June, and really didn’t want to serve my friends a themed dinner using plastic cups! So I researched ways to make my own set of plates, and that’s what started the whole thing. I still haven’t finished the plates though- keeping up with my Etsy shop takes a lot of time.

Why is your stuff great for geeks?

I currently cover a lot of geeky fandoms- anime, sci-fi, comics, and video games. I’ve done custom work for three weddings so far, the most recent featuring lightsaber-wielding ferrets.

What sort of geeky things are you into?

My personal favorite fandom is anime. I’ve been watching it since I was 6, starting with Transformers and Speed Racer. I didn’t know it was Japanese until I was about 13, and my brother rented Riding Bean from out local video store. I watched it from the stairs so he wouldn’t know I was spying on one of his friends, but I remember being more interested in the show than the boy.

AradiaDiane has also offered a special for mentioning Girls Are Geeks in your checkout: buy the tumbler, get the matching shot glass for free! That’s a great deal!

.

Vredigris Visions

What do you make?

Whatever my current passion is tends to invade my creativity. Right now, I’m enjoying playing with yarn and tend to make needlecraft items such as tissue toppers and coasters, or crocheted items like caps and amigurumi.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

I’m just a kid at heart who always loved arts & crafts time with my mother, with Girl Scouts, and at school. I’ve gone through many craft phases–something I inherited from my mother. While decorating the house for a holiday, I’d often see something neat she made and ask her how to do it. My current love of tissue toppers was sparked when I saw a tissue topper in the shape of a present, complete with a bow on top.

What makes your items great for geeks?

Virtually every geek today has played a Mario Bros. game of some sort, many when they were young. Having a tissue box covered with Mario images evokes a nostalgia in most people and makes a great conversation piece. I know that I smile every time I walk into my bathroom and see Dr. Mario–and I find the idea of a Kleenex box covered in 8-bit viruses hilarious!

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

I love old video games, DDR, Taiko Drum Master, Portal, anime/manga, cosplaying at anime conventions, and my current two favorite shows on TV are about geeks: “The Big Bang Theory” and “The IT Crowd.” I also like to copy and paste fanfiction into a new document just to be able to proofread it as I follow the story.

.

Well, look at that, lots of great stuff for your geeky home! Go, contact these wonderful sellers, and support the geek lifestyle.

Don’t forget, if you or someone you know has an Etsy you think we should feature, leave a comment or drop us an email at girlsaregeeks@gmail.com

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Spring
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 22:21:57

    I. Need. That. Glass.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
