Timewaster Tuesday: Sequence Letter Puzzles

Although pure logic puzzles are fun, sometimes I want something that makes me think more outside the box. I also occasionally like a puzzle that requires only pure thought, no note writing or math needed. The kind of puzzle you can glance at in the morning and spend your free moments the rest of the day working on; you know, like when you are waiting for the bus, eating lunch, or trying to look interested in the meeting with your boss.

Here is another category of favorites. They are sequence puzzles using letters set up in a logical order. Let me give you an example. What letter is next?

J F M A M J J A

Clearly, the answer is S as these are the months in the year. That was an easy one to give you an idea. Here’s another slightly harder classic.

O T T F F S S

Highlight here for the answer: E N T it’s the first letter of the numbers, one, two, three, four, five, etc.

Here’s a few more even harder ones:

1. Can you guess the next letter in this sequence?

C Y G T N L I T ?

2. How about this increasing series

F S T F F S ? ?

3. Here’s a super nerdy one

H H L B B C N O F N ? ?

4. I just made this geeky one up!

P M A C R S N H E S B ? ?

5. And another for the gaming crowd

U U D D L R L R ? ?

So, can you solve these? Can you think of any new ones for me to solve? Answers will be in the comments (hopefully soon after they are posted, but at some point today for sure)!

*****UPDATE*****

Answers are here since it took me so long to get back on here:

.

.

.

.

1. S

It’s the first letter of each word in the question

2. S, E, N

First, second, third, etc.

3. N, M, A

It’s the first letters of the elements of the periodic table

4. R J

It’s the major words from all the Star Wars movies

5. B A

Konami Code

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 12:28:34

    K P C O F G …

    Reply

  2. eye-shuh
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 17:39:21

    I don’t care how easy #5 is, I’m still proud of myself. XD

    I’m going to have to think on the rest of them.

    Reply

  3. Eleni
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 19:42:13

    This comment is just a test in an attempt to figure out if the website ate my previous attempt at a comment. Please excuse its intrusion.

    Reply

    • Eleni
      Oct 12, 2010 @ 19:47:46

      Oh no, I think it thinks my comment was spam, probably because it had a bunch of spaced and random (-seeming) letters in it. Sorry for the double attempt! Can you find my lost comment, Rosalind? 😦

      Reply

  4. Eleni
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 19:44:38

    1. S
    2. S E etc.
    3. S M etc.
    4. R J
    5. B A

    I have to confess though, that while I figured out what the U, D, L, and R stood for in #5, I’d never seen the code, so typed the part that was there into Google to figure out what it was referencing. Gamer shame 😦

    OK, I’ll throw a few out there, not sure if they’re any good..

    Probably only fair for U.S. folks
    W A J M M ? ?

    Nerdy
    M B C Z K H ? ?

    Geeky
    S T F F T A T V O T ? ?

    Sorry if this turns out to be a repeat post. My previous attempt at this comment seems to have disappeared, and it does not seem to be because of comment moderation.

    Reply

    • GirlsAreGeeks
      Oct 12, 2010 @ 20:30:32

      Well, the first one is A (and then I have to look them up, or listen to Jonathan Coulton’s song)

      I’ll think about the others for a bit.

      Rosalind

      Reply

      • Eleni
        Oct 12, 2010 @ 20:42:24

        Thanks! Sorry again for my excessive posts.

        My second grade (!) teacher made us memorize all the presidents in order, and, nerd that I was, I made sure I remembered them to this day 🙂

        I thought about making my “nerdy” puzzle simpler, but I didn’t want it to be too obvious.

      • Eleni
        Oct 26, 2010 @ 01:49:20

        Answer to my “nerdy” one:
        F S
        An easier one with a similar theme would have been:
        M N B V C ? ?
        but I didn’t have a sense of whether that one would be too obvious or not.

        Answer to the “geeky” one:
        S E
        It’s a famous sci-fi quote…

  5. Amanda
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 13:06:58

    Answer to the one I posted: S

    (Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus ,Species)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
