Geeky Etsy Finds 10/7/10

Welcome to another great day of craftiness and geekiness. Today’s selections are both about raising the next generation of geek, things for keeping young geeks warm and happy and for introducing them to the geek world. I may not be in need of these myself yet, but I’ll be keeping them in mind for the future for sure!

GeekUnique

What do you make?
I make 8-bit video game quilts in crib and lap size. I can also make throw pillows, crib bumpers and other decor items. I am thinking of making some tote bags, patterns, and fabrics/quilt kits. My next project is to make a Pop Art style Mario (or Ms. PacMan) crib quilt for sale on our shop. I also make geeky book marks called GeekMarks. They have fun and funny pictures and sayings (like zombies, Mario, etc). The next one I make is going to look like a bumper sticker and say “My other book is a Kindle…”.

My husband and I also make iPod/iPhone docks from NES controllers, 8-track cassettes, and classic game cartridges, basically anything we can drill a connector sized hole into. Our product line is also starting to include other controllers (SNES, Sony Playstation, etc).

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
I’m a full time crafter and I work from home so that I can take care of our special needs dog. I grew up in the Midwest and am now a New Englander, which I am thrilled about. I have been sewing since I was about 7 years old, when my mom taught me on an ancient Singer sewing machine. I have made all sorts of things through the years (clothes, decor, etc), but when I found quilting almost 10 years ago, I found something that just clicked with me, and I love it! I love to make my own patters and figure out new ways to make quilts fun and modern. These are not your grandma’s quilts!

What makes your items great for geeks?
My 8-Bit quilts are great little nostalgia pieces. I grew up in the Atari, then NES era, so Frogger, Mario, Donkey Kong, are all friends from my childhood. Much like many people of my generation. I think that our products are great little ways to “let your geek flag fly”. Plus our products are completely customizable, so we can make an iPhone dock from the 8-Track of your favorite band (or custom make a label for YOUR band), or we can hide Mario in a quilt of made up of the very grown-up colors of your IKEA living room.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
I love Math, and even if I’m not the best at it, I use it every day figuring out patterns. I love to read, I am always reading at least 2 books at any given time, I love to learn about new things. My husband is a Software Engineer, and I love to hear about how he thinks problems out, and solves them. We are also into Geocaching, which isn’t as geeky as it used to be, and also Postcrossing.

.

Katyandzucchini


What do you make?
I design and screen print nerdy baby clothes (adult stuff too at my big kid shop nerdesigns.etsy.com) I create my screens from recycled materials like old photo frames and recycled drapery.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
I am a science teacher and a mom of 21 month little girl. I have always been ‘crafty’ but hadn’t found an outlet I was truly passionate about. When I had my daughter, I made the decision to be home full time. Although I enjoyed being home with my little girl, the transition from working in a high stress, fast paced environment to being a stay at home was difficult to adjust to. I decided I needed to have a creative outlet to keep me from going stir crazy! I researched DIY screen printing online, and decided to give it a try. I am now a woman obsessed!

What makes your items great for geeks?
A lot of my designs are essentially “inside jokes” for nerds. 🙂 As a geek myself, many of my ideas stem from my science background and quirky sense of humor. There is nothing greater then a geeky baby!

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
Creatively, most of my designs make reference to science/biology. In life, some geeky stuff I am into: both my hubby and I are total geeks, I love geocaching, home brewing, macs, geeky babies (I made a geeky alphabet to hang in my daughters room. A is for amoeba, B is for base pair, C is for circuit, D is for dendrite)

Leave a Reply

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
