Geeky Etsy Finds 9-30-10

It’s one of my favorite times of the week again, which is Etsy time! If I had money, I would totally go broke buying from all these wonderful shops. I know, why don’t know spend your money supporting this fabulous geekery! Either way, here are two great shops for you with great jewelry to show off your geekiness, in classy and subtle ways!

Casstasstrophe

What do you make?
I make sophisticated intellectual jewelry featuring geeky, nerdy, and dorky pop culture icons. My most popular items are Star Wars and Star Trek related but I try to make items for some of the more obscure science fiction/nerd references (like, Eureka, CAD drafters, archaeology, and math enthusiasts).

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
I’m a mechanical engineer who is obsessed with science, math, and most science fiction. I love being a geeky girl! About a year ago, I was looking for some jewelry which would proudly proclaim to the world my love of Star Wars. There was a bunch of stuff on Etsy already, but when I asked myself, “Would I be taken seriously if I wore this to work?” my first inclination was, “No, I would not”. In a quest to find sophisticated, more professional jewelry which not only made a statement about who I was as a science fiction geek but also made a statement about my style, I started creating my own pieces. When I wore my jewelry to work and around town, I would get loads of compliments. I would (and still do) frequently sell my necklaces to someone I would run into on the elevator. That was when I realized that there must be a need for more mature nerd jewelry. Thus, Casstasstrophe! was born.

What makes your items great for geeks?
A lot of the nerdy and geeky jewelry already out there is a bit too immature for my tastes. My jewelry is subtle but still does a mighty fine job of nurturing all around geekdom. If you want a piece of jewelry that you can wear to work or school, with high heels or just jeans, my jewelry would be a nice compliment to your wardrobe. I would not hesitate to wear some of my pieces to a job interview. Seriously, it’s that classy.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
First of all, being an engineer I have a soft spot for the physical sciences and math, but my heart has always belonged to the science fiction/fantasy world. I’m a Star Wars fan through and through and a borderline Trekkie. Typical stuff. I also race home to watch Doctor Who every week, and own the complete series of Battlestar Galactica on DVD. My next series of jewelry is going to cater to my fellow Firefly/Serenity fans with Stargate to follow.
.
ShopGibberish

What do you make?
I make geeky stuff of course. Just perfect for science nerds like myself. Necklaces, cufflinks, keychains, cards, barrettes, pillows, tshirts, canvas signs and pretty much anything I can think of. Most of what I create is made by using periodic table tiles to spell out words, names and monograms.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
I’m a full time high school chemistry teacher and adjunct University teacher. All my life I have had a passion for science and art. If I go too long just pursuing academics, I get all squirrely and HAVE to make something. So the merging of the two worlds seems as natural and normal and amazing (for me at least) as the periodic table!

What makes your items great for geeks?
I hope that geeks everywhere just scream with glee when they see my shop! The thought of an entire line of products dedicated to chemistry is a whole lot of fun when you are a true science nerd. Finding ways to spell out your name, or your friends, is thrilling. I shrink some letters to make sure that your eyes read the right word…and there is something perfectly mischievous about that. We were all taught over and over that you can’t mess with convention…and yet I do, and am somehow forgiven since it’s in the name of art!

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
I spend my entire working day involved in the lovely word of science. As I said before, I teach chemistry, but I also coordinate an at-risk program so I end up tutoring lots of kids in Earth Science and Biology. In my fun time, I like to visit science and art museums. Last winter I got the thrill of a lifetime when I had the opportunity to go down to Cape Canaveral and see the last night-launch of the space shuttle. It was literally out of this world!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Twink13
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 14:20:07

    Dude. I’m not a squealer, and I just squealed over all that Etsy bling! I love the clean cuts and bold look of the designs. Great finds! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Eleni
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 14:38:40

    Both make very cool geeky stuff! I love Casstasstrophe’s various classy geek-based insignia jewelry, and I can’t wait to see her new Firefly series 🙂

    Reply

  3. eye-shuh
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 20:23:33

    I LOVE the Casstasstrophe collection! I checked out the other necklaces and I now have an Xmas present for a BSG fan solved! XD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
