Mathematical Monday 9-20-10

I’m very good at math. Well, some math. I always used to say that I was great so long as there were no numbers! As soon as there were numbers, I messed it up. What this meant, of course, is that I looked crummy at math back when I couldn’t memorize times tables but once I hit algebra, geometry, and calculus, I was a whiz! Anyway, it would appear that I am not the only one with such problems.

Now, that’s a graph I need to put somewhere! You wouldn’t believe how hard concentrations and dilutions get as a post-doc, whereas I can talk theoretical stoichiometry all day. If you understood that last sentence, I love you forever.

Anyway. Next time your super-smart friend is annoying you, ask them a few simple math problems, you might end up feeling better!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa M
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 12:47:00

    I always tell me people i’m a physicist, NOT an arithmetician. Most people don’t call me out on arithmetician not really being a real thing. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jonathan Liu
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 14:59:24

    See, my wife always makes fun of me because I have to stop and think about arithmetic. I was a math major—and I’ve explained many times before that I stopped using numbers as a freshman in college.

    Reply

  3. GeekishlyApropos
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 15:34:01

    So true, but for more than just math. When I started college I knew all kinds of things about computers and could write basic HTML. By the time I graduated I couldn’t even remember what CSS was. When I started on Twitter a few months ago I would constantly have to ask my boyfriend what the heck I was doing. Hashtag? @reply? Couldn’t comprehend it. Now that I comprehend Twitter I’m making myself relearn HTML. Sad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
