Fandom Introduction: Supernatural

Today I want to introduce you to one my favorite shows and one of my most recent obsessions: Supernatural. My husband was the one who started it all (which he talks about regretting often) when he bought Season 1 last summer (2009). A number of people from the X-files helped start Supernatural after X-files ended, most notably Kim Manners who directed many episodes including my favorites Detour and Small Potatoes. Since we were both X-files fans, Supernatural seemed like a logical step. It turned out to be an incredibly awesome choice.
They want to hear more, how about you?

Supernatural is a show about two brothers who fight Supernatural bad guys. At least, that’s the simple version. It’s also about two brothers learning who they are and how they relate to each other in a complicated world. It’s about the importance of family. It’s about defining good and evil, and how sometimes that’s much harder than it seems. It’s about surviving in a world where you know just enough to be scared and too much not to try and help those who don’t know enough to help themselves. It’s also a show about knowing when to be serious and when to laugh at yourself and why that’s important for survival. Starting to see why I like it?

Supernatural, season 1 starts out with the death of a woman who turns out to be the two main character’s mother. Sam, the younger, cuter (IMHO), brother, is off at college and is confronted by Dean, the older brother. They clearly haven’t spoken in some time, and Dean needs Sam’s help tracking down their father who has disappeared. The two boys go off on a ghost-hunting adventure that is the start of a journey about much more than a runaway father.

1967 Impala, almost as important as Sam and Dean!

There are a few major things that I like about Supernatural. It has a well thought out, continuing thread that has woven well through five seasons of the show. This is mainly due to creator and showrunner Eric Kripke’s vision. He had preplanned a five-year story arc and brought it through to completion. My two other favorite scifi series also had excellent story arcs: Babylon 5 and Battlestar Galactica. Supernatural is a show about the characters and really lets you get to know them. Even most of the recurring guest stars and many of the one-time characters are complex and interesting. You feel like this world could be real. The acting is mostly excellent, especially Jensen Ackles who plays Dean. That boy is incredible, and has sold me on more episodes than you can imagine. Misha Collins and Jim Beaver are also great and their characters are absolutely solid. Jared Padalecki who plays Sam is the slightly weaker link, but he’s so adorable I barely notice. Also, for the crummiest actor on the show, he’s still pretty good.

Bonus points: Jared and Jensen (Sam and Dean) are the best eye candy on television right now, and Misha is not bad either. I’m personally what’s known in the fandom as a Sam-girl because he has these cute puppy dog eyes that I fall for every time. However, if you are the bad-boy type, then you’d probably be a Dean-girl. Hot boys hunting demons? Yes, please!

Yeah, Kripke knows what we like!

The major musical setting for the show is classic rock. This is a major feat for the CW, which airs the show, since teeny bopper pop is their usual thing, but Kripke insisted. I think that’s an important aspect to the show. It simply wouldn’t be the same without ACDC and Bad Company in the background.

This is a good time to get into Supernatural because Season 5 just came out on DVD and Blu-ray, meaning that the complete 5-year arc is available for you to devour at your convenience. However, almost everyone I’ve ever known that has gotten into this show takes it down incredibly fast. Also, Season 6 is about to begin on September 24th. Now, Season 6 picks up a period of time after Season 5 ends, and it has a new showrunner and is promising new directions and storylines, so I have no idea what’s going to happen. I am still pretty excited for the new season, and the new showrunner, Sera Gamble, is just the woman for the job since she’s been working on the show the entire time and really seems to understand the feel and universe.

The Supernatural fanbase is another reason I love being obsessed with this show. Really, the fans are amazing. There are a number of fan sites with a huge variety of news articles, archives, and media associated with the show. The Winchester Family Business and Winchester Bros. are both great fan sites with news, reviews, pictures, and other fun. The Supernatural Wiki is the best place for details about almost any aspect of the Supernatural universe. There’s even a dedicated fanfiction site Supernaturalville Unscripted Genius to fill in gaps when the show’s not on. Jim Beaver and Misha Collins can also be found on twitter, along with a number of other guest and recurring stars, and most are great when it comes to chatting with fans online.  Misha also runs a charity known as Misha’s Minions run by fans. We have been known to trend topics on twitter on a pretty consistent basis as well. Watch for #SPN666 on Sept. 24th.

That’s who I want saving the world!

Okay, I’m going to stop being all obsessive now and just tell you to check this show out, because everyone I know who has also got hooked. Plus, then there will be more of us to geek out over it together!

Fair warning: Supernatural can be scary. Especially if you believe in ghosts and other such things. If you scare easily, don’t watch it at night before bed.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Budd
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 11:08:41

    The car is an actual character. This is an exceptional show. You aren’t a Winsest fan, are you?

    Reply

    • GirlsAreGeeks
      Sep 13, 2010 @ 11:38:16

      There is a deep pit in Hell near where Dean was for people who fail to label their fanfiction Wincest and I have to read it. Yuck! I agree with Dean, season 4, “Don’t they know we’re brothers?”.

      I do love me some Metallicar.

      Rosalind

      Reply

  2. Cafe Society
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 18:43:34

    I am so right there with you on this. I just randomly decided to watch it since I’ve always kind of had a thing for Jensen Ackles and watched all five seasons in like two weeks. I can’t wait to see where it goes next. And I totally love that we’ve found us some fanfiction readers. That’s like the first thing I do when I discover a new fandom, followed by looking on youtube for ‘ship vids…

    Reply

    • GirlsAreGeeks
      Sep 13, 2010 @ 18:56:48

      I’m not always into the fanfic, but this universe grabbed me like crazy, and I love it, though haven’t had much time for writing or reading any lately. The fan vids for the show are great too! So many talented SPN fans!

      Rosalind

      Reply

  3. Amanda
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 13:55:00

    Hey, thanks for the comment on my blog and for giving me another awesome place to check out some girl geek perspective. As the huge Supernatural fan that I am , I have to comment on this entry. Go Team Free Will! I worry for this coming season, since I was a firm believer in the show ending after season 5, but who knows. Let’s just hope with Sera Gamble in control now and being the huge Sam-Girl that she is that she show won’t get skewed. I like equal opportunity Winchester. 😉

    Reply

    • GirlsAreGeeks
      Sep 16, 2010 @ 14:47:33

      I was torn with the continuation. Part of me loves a complete story (B5, BSG FTW!), and part of me doesn’t want this world to end just yet! I’m staying open minded.

      Rosalind

      Reply

  4. Amy
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 00:08:58

    I have been so amazed that this show has come so far. I think it went from monster-of-the-week to a great, evolving show. I’m about ten episodes into season 5 so far, and I am impressed with the awesome of that season. Every episode has been solid, even the ones with little Dean & Castiel dialogue (they have the best conversations). I can’t wait to catch up!

    Reply

  5. gurlgonegeek
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 22:09:29

    I love Supernatural and my dad is obsessed with it also. I still need to catch up with Season 5 I’m about half way into it. It gets better and better! I think the anime they are going to make should be good too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
