Geeky Etsy Finds 9-2-10

Welcome to shop-til-you-drop Etsy Thursday! Today’s sellers are crafty and innovative and produce cool stuff to hang on your walls. You know, just in case you run out of movie posters to take up space.

You gNeeK

Star Trek Clock – We Need More Time Captain!

What do you make?
I make functional items into jewelry and unique Star Wars and Star Trek items. For Star Trek items, I make clocks featuring the old ships from when I was a student. I also make turn old playstands into personalized pins. I am working on I SPY YOU SPY toy tins and bags that feature the ultra rare teeny star trek characters, phasers, and other tiny related items. I am also working on a Star Trek Compass featuring quadrants.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
I am a bargain hunter and shopper. A spy and geek enthusiast and mom who loves all things that are unique. I started Sep 2008.

What makes your items great for geeks?
My items are unique and require thinking about how things work.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
Anything that is unique and has a touch cerebral. I can be talked into liking any kind of geek things! I like functional tools, math, science and science fiction, paleontology, archeology, electricity, wood working, metal working, jewelry making, gears, need I go on?


Legendary Tiger Hero

And now for something totally different, and just a little strange but absolutely awesome. Oh, and Cthulhu’s.


What do you make?

I make artwork. I work mostly with oils. All of my ideas begin with me saying “Aw, you know what would be a fucking sweet painting?!”

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

My name is Jann and I’m 33. I grew up in the hood of North Long Beach, California. I’ve been making art as long as I can remember. I started oil painting when I was 14. Recently, I broke my middle finger when it got slammed in a big ass old window. The window fell right on the nail. The window got stuck and it took me a good 30 seconds to open the mother fucker and free my finger. Fortunately, it wasn’t my painting hand that was affected. Unfortunately, I won’t be doing any guitar shredding for a good 5 months!

What makes your items great for geeks?

In my artwork you will find a grip of geeky shit! Let’s see….there’s my Batman Puking painting, I have one of Jabba the Hutt is hurling, too. I’ve got Cthulhu shredding a guitar solo, also a Robo-Cthulhu. There’s plenty of robots in my work and there’s no shortage totally heinous monsters! I think that my work covers a good amount of geekery!

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

Avatar: The Last Airbender (hell no! I didn’t watch the M. Knight movie!) , Hong Kong cinema, Bloodsport, robots, food, Funeral Doom, 80’s rap, Dutch Old Masters, which leads to my major geek out: painting. I’m constantly on oil painting forums with other geeks who make their own paints and oil mediums.

Well, if you still have white space on your walls at home, what are you waiting for, go buy these awesome things!

Leave a Reply

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
