Top Ten Instant Geek Credits

I hang out with a lot of non-geeks, and I’m sure most of you do too. Actually, I work with most of them. Well, this past week I was spending even more time with some of the people I work with since we were together at a conference, and surprisingly enough a few geeky topics made their way into conversation. I realized quickly that many of my non-geek friends still have a pretty good amount of geek credit in some form or another, including some love for everyone’s favorite Captain Tightpants. Therefore, I and blog contributor A. Cetogen brainstormed this list of things that give you an instant Geek Credit, even if you aren’t really a geek.

You Love Firefly

This is the one that started it all. One of my most seemingly non-geeky friends started talking about how great Firefly and Nathan Fillion was. I was so impressed that she knew and loved this cult thirteen episode show (and badly attended movie) that I gave her a Geek Credit on the spot.

You Write and Post Fanfic

If you geek out about something, and I mean anything, enough that you spend your time writing stories in their world and then enough to see what others in that fandom think of them, you get a Geek Credit.

You’ve Read an Entire SciFi/Fantasy/Graphic Novel Series

… of 5 books or more, oh, and written for adults (Yes, that means neither Harry Potter nor Twilight count, but I don’t think the time factor compares for young adult writings). If you get so into a series like that you put a good chunk of your life into it, that’s a Geek Credit. If you are one of the Wheel of Time folks, I have some serious respect for reading those bricks. I’ll stick with my Foundation, thanks.

You Drop SciFi/Fantasy Pop Culture References in Normal Conversation

If you are the type who randomly tells people they “aren’t thinking fourth dimensionally” or “it’s our time, down here” or tosses around “frak” or “oh my Gods” on a semi-regular basis, yeah, you get a Geek Credit. If you just got all three of those, I’ll give you a second for free.

Have/Had a Crush on Geek Icon

If you swoon at the sight (or thought) of people such as Wil Wheaton, Nathan Fillion, Neil Patrick Harris, or Felicia Day, yeah, you get a Geek Credit. Wow, now that I think about it, I’m amazed anyone can watch Dr. Horrible without squeeing through the whole thing.

You Own Two of More Albums by a Geek Band

This tends to be one of the best places to make non-geek connections, because there are a lot of TMBG fans out there, and not all of them are full-fledged geeks. JoCo is also becoming more and more popular, although I’m not sure as many folks own his stuff.

You Correct Scientific Facts

And bonus Geek Credit if it is because you looked up and read the original research. I mean, it takes at least a little bit of geek to read/hear about something and then go look it up to check out its scientific accuracy. Also, more bonuses for doing this associated with fiction or video games. Like, whether or not Mario can bend space or spacetime, that’s a Geek Credit.

You Own a Die with More Sides than 6

This one is easy. You have to have at least some geek to own strange dice. I personally like dodecahedrons and icosahedrons.

You Run Two or More Twitter Accounts

Everyone nowadays is on twitter. Well, my great-aunts haven’t figured it out yet, but I’m sure they will soon. However, if you love it so much that you have multiple accounts, for example, a blog account, a personal account, an etsy related account, etc., that’s really one step further than normal. #GeekCreditAcheived

You Can Type html Without Looking It Up

That goes for other basic programming languages as well. If you are adding a comment to a blog post and without even thinking just go ahead and type <a href=” then I think that deserves a geek credit, especially since most people who comment can barely type with full words and punctuation.

Okay, those are my ten things that are automatic geek credit. Feel free to use this list to drive your family and co-workers crazy by explaining how many Geek Credit’s they have racked up while talking to you. Got any additions to the list? Let us know in the comments!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pup
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 14:53:27

    Not all fanfic writers are total geeks?? ???

    Reply

    • GirlsAreGeeks
      Sep 01, 2010 @ 15:04:16

      I think it depends on the fandom. I don’t think as many of the Supernatural fanfic crowd are general geeks or would call themselves geeks for example, although there is a good amount of crossover. Same goes for things like Harry Potter and Twilight.

      Rosalind

      Reply

  2. angela
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 15:22:21

    And if someone can claim to have all points listed, they’re just a geek in denial.

    Reply

  3. ladymorgue
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 16:30:28

    @pup
    I ran into some madmen Fanfic
    More of a nerd than a geek here( but have very Geeky parents) but I can say that I apply check off 4 0r5 five on the list. (Spock is getting me into Star Trek since I have a massive crush on him). But I wanna get into discussions with other trekkers on whether or not can Spock have offspring.

    Reply

    • GirlsAreGeeks
      Sep 01, 2010 @ 18:26:03

      I don’t see why Spock couldn’t have offspring. Humans and Vulcans have the same initial genetic seed anyway, so it’s less of a cross-over than you might think.

      Rosalind

      Reply

  4. GeekishlyApropos
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 17:30:38

    Um…yeah, so…I qualify for all 10 of those.
    I think I have to correct you on “You’ve Read an Entire SciFi/Fantasy/Graphic Novel Series …of 5 books or more….” Lord of the Rings only has 3. I know, I know, there’s also The Hobit and Silmarillion, et. al. But the actual series is only 3.
    And you listed all of my current geek crushes. w00t!

    Reply

    • GirlsAreGeeks
      Sep 01, 2010 @ 18:25:03

      If you think about it, each LOTR book is actually two books, so it’s 6 books, there you go! I’ll give that one, and extra credit for having read it before the movies came out.

      Rosalind

      Reply

  5. Cate
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 06:32:05

    haha I tick almost every one of those boxes. More points for me!

    Reply

  6. Edana
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 12:48:42

    Okay, let’s see…only seen a few episodes of Firefly, but the boy and I keep meaning to rent it and watch the entire thing, so…soon. I’ve read The Chronicles of Amber at least 4 times, which I think puts me pretty high up there, and everything Neil Gaiman’s ever written (also, huge crush on Neil Gaiman). Drop Pratchett references all the time and get ridiculously happy when someone gets it and we geek out for a while. I don’t tend to own albums because I don’t have money, but if someone handed me 50 bucks I’d go to the “download everything” button on Jonathan Coulton’s site. (And I’ve watched the ASL videos of some of his songs enough that I can almost sign along.) I have a pink 20-sided die and two twitters. Welp, I was right. Huge geek here. (Though I knew that from the Inner Geek test: http://www.innergeek.us/geek-test.html )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
