Geeky Etsy Finds 8-26-10

I know, last week there were no Etsy finds and therefore nothing to spend money on, sad. However, this week there are two great women with some great jewelry for you to show off your geekiness, in subtle interesting ways of course! Check them out!

Adotelise

What do you make?
I make beaded leather wrap bracelets with a subtle twist – the beads spell out secret messages in binary code.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
I am a graduate student studying biomedical engineering, with a neuroscience focus. My days often consist of a lot of abstract thought experiments, so having a hands-on, instant-gratification, crafty project waiting for me when I get home is such a relief. I’ve been a knitter for ages, and I recently branched out into other crafty areas such as sewing and jewelry making. Last Christmas, I made a friend one of these leather wrap bracelets and she insisted I try to sell them. After a ton of research and prep work I started selling at a craft fair in March. I just opened my Etsy shop last weekend!

What makes your items great for geeks?
I love the idea of jewelry with a story. I think handmade items in general are great for this because you get to know the maker’s story and it then becomes a conversation piece. My binary bracelets take this a step further because they can also carry your story – what do you want it to say, or mean, to you? And they do this without intruding too much on the aesthetics of the piece, which I think is a problem with a lot of geeky jewelry out there… the designs can get clunky and busy. That’s the beauty of using binary code; it’s simple, elegant and universally known to geeks of all kinds.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
Science!! When I’m not in lab or gettin’ crafty, I like thinking about the intersection of my two passions – science in popular culture and fashion. I’d like to start a blog about that someday, but right now I’m just focusing on getting my Etsy shop up and running. Thank you so much for the chance to talk about it!

.

Nelia Tenlion

What do you make?
I create everything from Polymer Clay sculpts to vials of potions to plastic charms.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
I’m an ultra geek gal from NC, USA. I got started early last year, well, funny story… I noticed there was not much Silent Hill merch out there, and at that time, Konami hadn’t put hardly anything out. So, I started making my own Silent Hill themed charms, starting with the weapons and items. Then it just took off!

What makes your items great for geeks?
I try to get inspiration from different aspects of Geekdom: from gaming and cult flicks to anime and lolcats. I don’t make things I know nothing about. When I create something – say, the Zelda Kissing necklaces (the ones with magnets in them that make ’em smooch), I really put my heart into it.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
Oh man, don’t get me started because I’ll never shut up. I have a Silent Hill (SH2 Dog Ending ftw!) and Dragonball Z tattoos, so I am obviously into gaming and anime… Although, I’m into a wide range of geekery. I’d have to say my favorite geekouts include classic anime, survival horror gaming, Star Wars, Supernatural, Cosplaying, and reading fantasy books. 🙂

.

So, if you are planning to look great for PAX, or any other con in the near future (NYCC, I’m talking about you!), you should jump on board and get some of these great pieces!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Mathematical Monday 10-11-10 « Girls Are Geeks

Leave a Reply

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
