Geeky Etsy Finds 08/12/10

It’s Thursday, and that means it’s time to get out your wallets/paypal account passwords and check out the cool stuff on Etsy! Today we have decorations for you, that is if you happen to be the kid from Vault 101 in a post-apocalyptic Fallout world . We also have decorations for your home, if your goal is to scare aware most of your guests. Check it out!

Phenocrystminiatures


Fallout Vault Boy Double-sided Phone Charm

What do you make?
I make mostly jewelry and charms, a large portion out of polymer clay and/or in tiny glass bottles. I love creating miniatures, and post-apocalyptic jewelry, including my Fallout Nuka-Cola accessories. I also do acrylic paintings and ACEOs, draw, crochet plushies, make teddy bears out of recycled fur jackets, and write literary fiction.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
My name is Alia and I’m a 26 year old wife and mother living in West Wendover, Nevada. I’ve always had creative interests and was influenced by my mother, who paints and makes jewelry.

What makes your items great for geeks?
I’m a geek myself, so I make things I like and/or can’t find anywhere else. Most of my geeky items are video game-related, like my pet metroids in bottles, but I have other quirky things, like Lucky Charms earrings, and Dragon Ball Z charms.

What sort of geeky stuff are you into?
Video games, DBZ, post-apocalyptic anything, psychobilly/macabre items, Bruce Campbell movies, sci-fi and Stephen King books, and anything to do with Japan

Meatspider


The Tentacle Terror

What do you make?
I make polymer clay sculptures with a horror / goth theme. A lot of which are based on the works of H.P. Lovecraft.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
I am AJ Wagar AKA Meatspider Studios. I got started 3 or 4 years ago. I have always enjoyed Lovecraft and saw a few random sculptures people had made of Cthulhu and decided to give it a whirl. I had always enjoyed sculpting but did not have the resources to do it until then. I don’t think polymer clay was around or readily available the last time I had sculpted anything before then. At any rate I enjoyed it and have had a good time of it so far and hope to keep it up for years to come.

What makes your items great for geeks?
It would seem that not many people know who Lovecraft or Cthulhu are unless you travel in a geek circle. Most people I show my pieces to say something to the effect of “wow…what is it” I have to explain the whole Lovecraft thing. Usually I just get smiles and nods by this point and their eyes kind of glaze over.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
Love the horror genre. I love all types of horror but monster movies especially, make it a deep sea monster and I’m all in. The hardest part of sculpting I have found is letting the pieces go.

Leave a Reply

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
