Geeky Etsy Finds: 7/29/10

There’s lots of great art to be found on Etsy, and lots of great geeky art! Today we’ve got some you can display on your person or in your home. Let that geek shine!

HollywoodJane

Treble Clef Flash Drive Necklace

What do you make?
Mostly pendants that reference some kind of pop culture, and slightly more “serious” jewelry that has a steampunk influence. I’m working on a few t-shirt designs as well that will be listed on Zazzle.com.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
My name is Megan and I’ve always loved craft projects. Since I can’t draw, I like to make things. My Etsy shop came about after I decided that no one was making the jewelry I myself wanted to wear. A lot of geek stuff on the web is plastic or cartoonish – I wanted something I could wear to work, something a little arty, a little stylish. I love working with copper and enamel paints, though it’s a messy business.

I also had a problem with constantly losing or damaging my flash drive, and after running through three of them, decided I needed to start wearing it around my neck – only problem was that any flash drive that was designed to be worn from a chain or lanyard was hideously ugly. So I started making my own flash drive necklaces, and most of the time no one knows that my pendant actually is a thumb drive.

What makes your items great for geeks?
Well, on both my jewelry and t-shirts, I prefer to use some kind of symbolism for whatever show, book, or movie I’m referencing – rather than a name, face, or commercial logo – because I feel like when another person comes up to me and recognizes it, I have an instant connection with a perfect stranger. That person has proven his or her geek cred to my satisfaction.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
Wow, how much space do I have? I’m a Harry Potter fan, I love science fiction and fantasy, I follow all things Joss Whedon religiously, and have lately become obsessed with graphic novels. Anything that comes with at least a hint of the otherwordly is within my purview.

PamWishbow

Science is Awesome print

What do you make?
I make digital prints and paintings, and hope with some moving of furniture and getting my apartment cleaned up I can made real prints. Every once in a while I also paint on glasses and assorted home decor for fun. I paint whatever I feel like painting, no need for only silly or only serious. Art doesn’t have to be serious all the time.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
My name is Pam Wishbow, which is a real name, I swear. I’m from NJ but have been bouncing around for a little while. I went to school for illustration and it all kind of stems from there. There were so many avenues for us to get into so i just kind of dabbled in whatever I could to get a taste of it. I settled on the style and what I do because it feels right, I don’t have to force anything out, which is totally how it should be.

What makes your items great for geeks?
I tend to range a little in every geeky direction and have a style reminiscent of retro illustration and graphics. I think all of us geeks and nerds look lovingly to the past at really cool packaging, cartoons, comics, school books, manuals, etc. Things that have that look about them tend to get geeks all sorts of happy and gooey inside.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
I’m kind of all over the place, I’m not just a sci-fi and gaming fan. I really, honestly love to learn, it’s something engrained into me by my parents and grandparents who were all about science, learning, and logic (cough, maybe we’re secret Vulcans, cough). I like listening to lectures about anything from economic theory to art history, read anything from engineering magazines to books about supervision. I was the kid in school who would carry around an extra bag for my own books and sketchbooks on top of her school books. Slap a kick me sign on my back and call me a nerd.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Eleni
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 17:20:13

    Megan is awesome! I’ve been eying those flash drive necklaces for a while. So pretty and functional.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
