Etsy Finds

All science fiction all the time in our Etsy finds today. Decorate your house with Star Trek or yourself with Doctor Who.

Stablercake

What do you make?
I make mostly paintings in acrylic on canvas, sometimes on board. I also do drawing in ink or colored pencil as well as design some graphics for t-shirts.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
Well, my name is Mallory and I got started when I was very young. I’ve been a geek and an artist at heart for as long as I can remember. I just recently got into Star Trek, but I’ve been into the broad spectrum of geekery for a while now.

What makes your items great for geeks?
My items pander to the geek decor, for geeks without enough posters or geeks wanting to graduate their tastes a little classier without giving up on their geekdom.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
My geekdom spans from mostly knowing too much about stuff. I’m a geek about Sci-Fi (Star Trek, Alien, Galaxy Quest, Doctor Who), about video games (Assassin’s Creed, Bioshock, Team Fortress 2), but also about stuff like old dustbowl-era circuses (specifically the sideshows and the overall design practices) and turn-of-the-century Russian/USSR-ian artwork as well as the history around the Bolshevik revolution. I even play the odd game of D&D here and there.

JezebelCharms

What do you make?
My jewelry creations are a combination of indulgent styles, using decoupaging, century old brass filigree designs and vintage watch parts to create contemporary, original jewelry; utterly captivating and some more steampunkish than others. I mainly create steampunk necklaces, steampunk charm bracelets and charm earrings.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
About me…well I’m a married 36 year old who has a tendency to be rather indulgent and materialistic. I love food and wine and often get described as arty-farty. I now live in Dorset, England but use to live in Texas and I really miss the southern drawl of the cowboys ! I love giving my pets strange names so it probably a good thing I never had children.

Technically I started crafting at a tender age of five which mostly involved eggs boxes and sticky tape. I did graduate from art college and use to paint fine art all the time but quickly got fed up being a poor 21 year old and that’s when I fell into retail but in an artistic way…as an interior designer. I’m a completely self taught artisan (such a perfectionist that I drive myself crazy!) and created my first piece of jewelry about 18 months ago after spending months perfecting my style and get comfortable and confident to sell online.

What makes your items great for geeks?
My first piece I made was Doctor Who; I honestly had this idea in my head and just had to make it and once listed for sale it sold within 48 hours, absolutely thrilling buzz ! I couldn’t believe others shared my vision of Doctor Who geeky jewelry but I’ve not looked back and the more wacky the idea the quicker it sells. I think the girlieness of jewelry for geeks has be completely overlooked. Trust me I’ve sold some amazing ‘geek’ themed pieces to famous individuals and not just celebrity types, there are renowned professors and scientists wearing my creations; there is no bigger compliment.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
My biggest guilty geeky pleasure is totally Doctor Who (previously Lost and the whole time travel theories of the story), my husband is sadly told to be silent for the duration of the episode and then afterwards I devour the Whovian forums for the theories of the plotlines. Time travel and science fiction gets my attention and I secretly adore geeky guys.

Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
