Etsy Finds 07/15/10

Etsy is always good for finding cute homemade things to wear, and our finds this week are no exception. These two shops are full of accessories to geekify any outfit!

BohemianBear

What do you make?
I’m currently making fiber art brooches, pendants, and my favorite, textile bracelets (wrist cuffs) with my favorite sci-fi themes and quotes. I also make stickers, and I’m working on little space ships in bottles and Firefly night lights.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
My *real life* name is Kristi. I’m a working wife and mom. I’ve been sewing and crafting since I was 13. I used to sell my work at craft stores and craft fairs, and I used to sell handmade Barbie doll clothes on eBay. I just opened my Etsy shop Bohemian Bear in May of this year. I finally decided to make the time to JUST DO IT!

What makes your items great for geeks?
If I didn’t make them myself I would definitely be shopping from my store. I’m 30 years old, and I don’t think you should have to hide your geeky side at your day job. I wore my Star Trek communicator earrings to work today, and I’ve been working on lots more brooches, pendants, and wrist cuffs. My pieces are subtle enough to “fit in” with the rest of the crowd, but they really stand out to fellow geeks. I love to hear someone in a store say, “Oh, my goodness, are you wearing TARDIS earrings!?!”

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
If there are aliens involved, I probably dig it. I’m a Trekkie, a Whedonite, and a Whovian! And come to find out, I was into steampunk before it even had a name. The new season of Eureka just started, and I’m on Cloud 9!

ScandaliciousJewelry

What do you make?
I make jewelry, mostly earrings, out charms, findings and beads.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?
My name is Holly and I’m 25 years old! I started making jewelry (pony bead bracelets) when I was 16 for extra cash, then I spent my extra cash on better materials and here I am today!

What makes your items great for geeks?
I try to make my items unique, not something you see everywhere, and I never make the same item twice.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
Well..this is kind of embarassing, and I’m not quiet sure if it counts as geeky, but I am most definately the biggest Backstreet Boys fan you’ll ever meet! 🙂 LOL I also heart anything Disney and I love to make cupcakes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
