Timewaster Tuesday: Peggle

I’m not really a marathon PC gamer. I really can’t sit at a computer for six hours and play a first person shooter or RPG. I’m much more of a casual gamer. I like having the opportunity to play a game for a long time if I choose. But if I have 5 minutes to kill before class, I want to be able to play a level or two without having to worry about checkpoints.

There’s a few games that I have played around with to do this. Sometimes I work on my obsessive Freecell project. Other times, I’ll play a bubble shooter game online. My favorite, though, is this little classic.

For those of you that know and love this game, you already understand why Peggle is pretty much the perfect PC video game. However, for the rest of you, here’s a description of the game and why I love it.

Peggle Academy

When you first start the game, you go through a series of standard puzzle levels. They all have the same basic goal: remove 25 orange pegs with 10 balls.

You are introduced to a series of characters that help you do this with their talents. If you hit a green peg, the character helping you will give you a special type of shot, either immediately or on the next ball. I’m not going to overview them, but my personal favorite is Spooky Ball, from Renfield. The talents are the same in the original Peggle and the sequel Peggle Nights, but the latter has the addition of Marina with the electrobolt.

Other important things to note: The purple peg gives you a point boost, and it changes location every ball you shoot. The multiplier on the right increases as you clear more orange pegs. You can’t control the bucket at the bottom, but sometimes you’ll get lucky and catch the ball.

Challenges

Going through all the basic levels unlocks the challenges. And believe me when I say they are absolutely a challenge. Some involve solving entire levels with a severely limited number of balls. Other require a minimum score of something extravagant.

Then What?

This is where I start loving this game. I’ve played all the levels through, but that doesn’t mean I’ve done it perfectly. You can always go back and play the academy levels over with different [HELPERS]. When you do this, aim to do two things.

1. Clear the entire board. Blue pegs, green pegs, orange pegs, and that jumpy purple. When you do this, all the bonus points at the end will jump to 100,000, giving your score quite the boost. If you hit the last peg with a spooky ball in queue, that’s double bonus because you’ll hit 100,000 twice.

2. Try to reach the ace score, which changes for each level. You learn quickly that one of the best ways to do this is to not lose any balls. Make it a goal to earn or catch a ball for each one you shoot. Other tips are learn the all style shots and the best way to get them and to utilize your [power] for maximum score.

It Can’t Be Perfect

Okay, that’s true. There are times I get angry at Peggle. Particularly when I’ve played the same challenge level twenty-seven times in a row because I really just can’t figure out how to get 5 unique Style Shots when half the time I can’t even clear the screen.

The goods make up for the bads though. The challenge is definitely there, and that makes the game interesting. The screens are limited, but the orange pegs are always in different places making each reload of the game totally unique.

Trust me when I say give this one a shot. (Pun totally intended)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Treehouse
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 00:38:56

    This is perfect timing for me. I downloaded the demo and was waffling on whether to buy the full version or not.

    I’m going to go buy it- sounds like there was more to it than I originally thought. Plus, I have a weakness for gophers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
