Geeky Etsy Finds 7-8-10

Today’s Etsy finds are mostly pretty things that you can wear, always a favorite! I’m a fan of putting on a pair of geeky earrings to give my day a geek kick when otherwise I look totally normal. If you like to do that too, then theck out today’s great geeky accessories!

Forever Fun

What do you make?

I like to make a variety of things with some touch of nostaglia, I was a girl of the 70’s/80’s so there is a lot to play with out there.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

I’m actually a psychologist and business major by training and have worked in healthcare for over 20 years, crafts have been a wonderful stress reliever for me.  If I could do crafts as my job for the rest of my life I’d be thrilled!

I have always LOVED crafts in some form or another.  I like to dabble and try new things and this theme has persisted throughout my life, knitting, latch hook, christmas ornaments, wreaths; like diets if it’s out there I’ve done it.  Not to say I was any good at most of it but it was fun.  Several years ago a friend and co-worker suggested I put some of my items on Etsy, it has been a blast posting and selling items but the best thing about Etsy is seeing all the creativity and fantastic ideas on the site.

What makes your items great for geeks?

I think geeks are drawn to my items for two reasons; practicality and nostalgia.  I like to think other geeks can appreciate the re-purposing, recycling of these fun items.  I like to find a way to enjoy them rather than having them sit in a closet or basement used.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

70’s trading cards are what I am currently into-I have thousands and keep on buyin’. Charlie’s Angels are my favorites, I collected them as a kid and was thrilled to stumble across them on the internet.  The other are game tokens.  I have been on the hunt for trivial pursuit and clue tokens-two of my most favorite games.

.

PointyKitty

What do you make?

My jewelry work really centers on giving new life to old things, showcasing found objects and other bits of our “history” instead of resigning it to the trash heap. Thanks to my family, and their similar philosophy, I’ve spent years collecting all sorts of things, from beach glass and pebbles to old books and games. I’ve spent the last few incorporating them into small works of art that others can wear and share their works’ stories with those close to them!

Most recently, I’ve been giving new life to old antique watch bits, and started working on a line of jewelry made out of recycled game pieces. The Lego jewelry is just the first round of that.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

Professionally, I’m a jeweler and commercial photographer who specializes in photographing other artists’ work. I’ve also called myself “an enabler,” but I use my powers for good — anything I can do to get the work of artists into the hands of more people would make me incredibly happy.

I think you could probably credit my mother and her parents with starting my collecting habit. Most of my family has a strong sense of history, illustrated everywhere from the long line of educators I come from, to my mother’s genealogy work, to my grandfather’s model car tinkering in his garage, to my grandmother’s taking me antiquing and garage sale-ing when I was a child.

What makes your items great for geeks?

Memories and remembering are a wonderful thing, and when I can make something like that wearable, be it a Lego tie tac, or a hammered sterling pendant, I’m helping cue that memory while also giving the wearer a conversation piece.

I think Tom Stoppard says it well — “If you carry your childhood with you, you never become older.”

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

Oh, pick something! My undergrad degrees are in documentary film and photography, and I’ve been a web geek by trade for longer than that. With a music teacher for a mother, I play far too many musical instruments, and wish I had time to do so more often!

I’ve spent years entertaining the idea of going back to school for a Library or Archivist degree of some sort — I get no end of joy out of researching and cataloguing — but in the meantime have been named the family genealogist, and spend my off-hours tracking down wayward ancestors in old books, ship manifests, and other church and public records.

.

Well, we are half-way to Christmas, so as my mother would suggest, buy some great stuff now so you don’t have to later!


Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
