Top Ten TV/Movie Marathons

I’m a good geek. Therefore, my typical holiday events tend to circulate around watching marathons on tv. I was thinking about this recently because I was recalling the July 4th’s of my youth when my whole family would be out on the Jersey Shore and I would sit back in the beach house watching Star Trek all day. Me and my husband have also done our own all day marathons, which can be fabulous or insane. Anyway, I was thinking of some of my favorite marathons, and therefore, I created a top ten list. Hooray!

10. A Christmas Story.
TBS plays this movie all day Christmas Day. I attempt to watch it all day Christmas Day, and my family shouts and whines. I don’t understand why? I mean, who doesn’t love the Red Rider BB Gun, and the fragile lamp, and the kid with his tongue stuck to the pole! What? No, once is not enough!

9. Cash Cab
I don’t think that this is an official marathon. It’s just that every time I turn on Discovery Channel, Cash Cab seems to be on. There are also no less than two episodes of Cash Cab or Cash Cab After Dark (With doubled cash values!) following. A marathon of these is like playing a never-ending game of Trivial Pursuit, and who doesn’t love a little trivia?

8. Star Wars
Now that there are six movies, these make an excellent day long marathon. The best part is that if you start at number 1 then you can breeze through the crummy ones and have the good stuff to hold you through the night. Of course, that’s assuming you make it through three, or maybe I’ll just really biased.

7. Lord of the Rings
I dare you to marathon the extended editions of these in one day. It was quite a feat. I love these movies, and the books, but twelve hours of Lord of the Rings really takes a certain kind of endurance. I like to use Aragorn to help me get through it, but you might be a Legolas type …

6. Kevin Smith movies
I love Kevin Smith movies. It might be because I grew up in the same general part of Jersey as him, and I know all the locations and get all the references, but I think it’s also because they speak to geeks really well, him being one and all. There’s also plenty of material to play with in the Askewniverse, which are all the connected movies. Start with Clerks, hit the Clerk’s animated, then move through Mallrats, Chasing Amy, (stop and read the comic Chasing Dogma here), Dogma, Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back, and Clerks II.

5. 24, Season 1
This is a great show to marathon since each episode leads directly into the next until a 24 hours days has been achieved. It only take about 18-19 hours due to commercial break shortening, but it’s still fun. I specify Season 1 because it only went downhill from there.

4. Star Trek: The Original Series
This is a great choice because since there are only 79 episodes most of the great ones are played every time. If you had a whole long weekend, it could just keep going! This was my original July 4th choice. Unfortunately, this marathon has been disappearing in recent years.

3. Doctor Who
I haven’t personally watched it (I know, bad geek!), but I know enough about the many dear doctors to know that there is plenty of great fodder here to play with for a fabulous marathon. I’m hoping to catch one and find out what I’m missing someday soon!

2. Shark Week
There isn’t much better than a week-long marathon dedicated solely to those man-eating monsters of the deep. Sharks are just cool! Shark week gives everyone a chance to learn more about these magnificent creatures, with a little terror mixed in!

1. Twilight Zone
Everything calls for an original Twilight Zone marathon. Especially New Year’s. I spend most of my New Year’s watching for Monsters on Maple Street and waiting for Shatner to try and bring the plane down. Best. Marathon. Ever.

There you have some great ideas for marathons to watch or put together yourself! What are your favorite marathons?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Budd
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 16:23:20

    Firefly/serenity? list fail. I am pretty sure that there are only 3 Star Wars movies. It is just confusing because the only 3 star wars movies that exist are eps 4, 5, and 6.

    Reply

  2. Gina
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 19:26:03

    Firefly definitely, but also Miyazaki films and Avatar: the Last Airbender make for great marathons.

    Wonderful list 😀

    Reply

    • girlsaregeeks
      Jul 07, 2010 @ 21:22:40

      Oh, yes, I love Miyazaki movies! Should have thought of those. Although I still need My Neighbor Totoro. I also need to watch Avatar on Netflix sometime soon. Maybe this will be an Avatar marathon weekend, hmmm.

      Rosalind

      Reply

      • Gina
        Jul 07, 2010 @ 21:54:02

        Totoro is incredible. That and Kiki’s Delivery Service were some of mine and my sisters favorites as a kid. If you’re ever in Japan, the Ghibli museum in Mitaka is well worth a day trip. It’s incredible ❤

        Avatar is really easy to make a marathon of since the episodes are so short. My friends and I have been having mini-marthons of 4 or 5 episodes to get them into it 😀

  3. faak
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 03:11:44

    awesome !!!

    Reply

  4. Amy
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 00:29:48

    I need to watch Doctor Who too. One day!

    The Lord of the Rings EE marathon is something I only have done once. And that was probably enough. We started it way too late, and I think wrapped up somewhere around 3:30am. It was a blast though. Maybe I should repeat that soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
