How to Enjoy Adult Walt Disney World

I know that things have been kind of sparse around here lately, and that has been mostly due to a little bit of trip insanity. Trip insanity began with a week long field excursion for the purposes of science! to Colorado and then ended in four days of Walt Disney World vacation. It’s that last one that I want to talk about today. The sisters of Girls Are Geeks are Disney geeks. No question. I’ve been going to Disney since I was 2 years old, and have experienced it in almost every way possible. Now, when I tell most people who I know today that I am a Disney at the fabulously young adult age of 28, many of my friends and colleagues ask, “But isn’t Disney for kids?” Well, after yet another four days of fabulousness at the Happiest Place on Earth, I can tell you for certain that the answer is a resounding, “No! It’s for all ages!” and I thought I would spend a few minutes to talk about some of the more adult activities at Walt Disney World, and possibly even some of the geeky activities that you can enjoy while there.

An evening of dinner and drinks sounds like a plan to me. Space Mountain in the background … even better!

Learn How to Fast Pass

Let’s be honest, if you want to feel like an adult at Disney, you are probably staying away from Peter Pan’s Flight and heading toward Space Mountain. The problem: all the big rides have long lines. Well, Disney has invented this fabulous thing called FastPass that holds a place in line for you while you do something else. Use it! Use it wisely too, hit the FastPass for the biggest ride in each park: Space Mountain in the Magic Kingdom, Aerosmith Rocking Roller Coaster in Hollywood Studios, Expedition Everest in Animal Kingdom and Test Track in Epcot (Mission Space is a crappy ride, don’t go on it). Then, go have a meal or hit a shady zone to chill out in for a while. You can sit on a bench and play your DS for a while, still better than standing in line, right!

Enjoy Excellent Cuisine, but Avoid Characters

I do like to hang with characters now and again (even though you gotta watch out for Dale) but Disney has such wonderful food that most of the time I’d rather enjoy my meal than have it interrupted. Also, character meals attract small children. Let me suggest some restaurants that are better than some others.

Marrakesh in Morocco instead of Akershus in Norway in Epcot. Belly dancers instead of princesses.

The SciFi Drive In instead of the Prime Time Cafe in Hollywood Studios. I prefer B movie trailers to being told to keep my elbows off the table any day.

The Liberty Tree Tavern instead of Cinderella’s Royal Table in Magic Kingdom. Old fashioned turkey dinner and no singing and dancing mice in sight.

Drink Your Way Around the World

There are 11 countries in Epcot’s World Showcase. You can get a beer in each of them (although my husband doesn’t recommend either France or Italy). You can also get wine tastings, tangerine slushes, margaritas, cider and sake. While you are drinking around the world, don’t forget to grab some food in each country as well. If you have the time, go to Disney World in October for the Food and Wine Festival. We did that when Dawn turned 21, and it was really one of the best times ever.

Evening Entertainment

I don’t really like fireworks. I mean, they can be fun, but mostly they aren’t that great and your neck hurts staring at them. Fortunately, Disney World has plenty of evening activities with no fireworks involved, even now that Pleasure Island has officially closed. The Downtown Disney area still has a variety of places to eat and drink at night including Planet Hollywood and concerts at the House of Blues. However, I like the Boardwalk Resort, which has the Atlantic Dance Club and my favorite location: Jellyrolls Piano Bar and Sing-A-Long. Last time we were there, we may have started a Conga line. They play mostly classic songs of the 70s-90s and we always have a blast. For a nice relaxing evening, just pop by your pool bar for a Havana Daydreamer to take in the hot tub.

There, now you know why I love Disney and keep going back. Sure, someday I’ll have a kid again, but until then, I’ll just keep drinking my way around Epcot and ending up at Jellyrolls (swing a left after France!).

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 8-bit Emma/Chronic Geek
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 23:13:41

    Excellent post! I’ve been enjoying Disney World since I was 5.

    I have to add that as a person who can’t eat gluten due to Celiac’s and an intolerance Disney World and the whole Orlando area are excellent at catering to food needs.

    They were also great when I brought my disabled grandmother years ago.

    Reply

    • girlsaregeeks
      Jun 29, 2010 @ 09:31:52

      I actually have a gluten intolerance, and I ADORE dining at Disney. The Chef at Kouzzina made me a special flan dessert once after I fussed about there not being good desserts without gluten. I had fabulous pancakes this trip, and I have even had tea sandwiches on brown rice bread before.

      Rosalind

      Reply

  2. Amy
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 01:04:37

    I go to Disneyland as often as I can, and it never gets boring. Though I really do wish we had our own version of Epcot over here (California Adventures does have alcohol, but it’s not the same).

    Your trip sounds lovely!

    Reply

  3. Ruth
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 10:27:17

    I think I would’ve hated Disney World as a kid, but now that I’m older there are a few things I’d like to see there. 🙂 Among other things, the food sounds exciting!!!

    Reply

    • girlsaregeeks
      Jun 29, 2010 @ 11:00:07

      I loved it as a kid, then I went through a teenage stage where I didn’t want to wait for anything and just roamed the parks by myself and went to the pool and rode the train for hours. I also would take over pianos in the empty hallways of the Contemporary conference center. Then, I turned 18 and started having fun again, and after 21, whew!

      Rosalind

      Reply

  4. Eleni
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 15:48:25

    Great advice. I haven’t been to Disney World since I was 13. It would be fun to go again, but it does kind of feel like I need an excuse to go there, since I live so far away. I need a friend to move near there so I can visit her/him and then make a “Well why not? We’re so close” trip to Disney World. Otherwise, I don’t imagine I’d go back until I have a little kiddie of my own.

    I have a better chance of visiting Disneyland, since my brother lives in L.A. But it’s not the same.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
