Geeky Etsy Finds 6-24-10

Sorry things have been quiet around here, but I’ve been out in the field doing science! for about a week and now I’m going to Disney for a long weekend. Two of my favorite geeky things, but not a lot of time for blog posts! Promise to be back next week with all sorts of goodies. If you bug us with comments, Dawn might even post some of the stuff I know she’s been working on while I was gone. Anyway, since I was doing science all week, we are starting off today with a scientist turned crafter! Our second one is not about science, but is all about Nintendo DS’s which are great on plane trips like the ones I’ve been taking. Enjoy!

Beadwork By Amanda

We might be a little late for Father’s Day, but I bet there are a ton of weddings coming up, and what groomsmen wouldn’t like to wear circuit board cuff links, right? There’s also a lot of great necklaces and earrings, if you are like me and into that sort of geeky thing.

What do you make?

I make a variety of jewelry items for women and men using recycled circuit boards and resin.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

The recycled circuit jewelry started when I was first learning about resin. Resin is a really neat polymer that can be manipulated in a variety of ways. I became very attracted to the glass-like qualities of resin as well as its ease of use. My brother, at the time, had disassembled his computer leaving bits and pieces everywhere. Somewhere in there it just clicked that resin and circuit boards were a perfect duo.

What makes your items great for geeks?

If you can appreciate the science behind electronics or know down to the electron how they work, you are a geek! This line of geekery is perfect for those who prefer a more subtle way of displaying geekiness.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

While I have no understanding of the workings inside a computer, I do hold a bachelors of science in chemistry. I’m currently pursuing a doctorate in materials science and physical chemistry, so I’m a geek by trade. My current projects involve photovoltaic devices, so I tend to geek out when explaining how they work.

.

AutumnSilverMoon

I have always been a duct tape lovin’ geek girl, and me and some friends made many a duct tape wallet during summer camp. Therefore, combining duct tape with Nintendo is just incredibly awesome. So, if you want to protect your favorite handheld system (like a shiny new 3DS, don’t they look awesome!!) with duct tape, this is the shop for you!

What do you make?

I make Nintendo DS Cases and purses out of Duct Tape. Most with comic book or video game themes.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

I’ve always been pretty creative. I remember a few years ago I was on a hair message board and someone posted a plain duct tape purse they made. I thought “I can make that.” And I did. I then tried thinking of other fun things I could make out of Duct Tape. My DS needed a good home so I created a pattern for it. It turned out awesome and the rest is history.

What makes your items great for geeks?

Most geeks have hand held games. I know I like to take mine with me everywhere, and I hate carrying a game case with it. My Duct Tape cases hold your ds and 3 extra games. Plus they have some neato designs, like Yoshi and batman.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

I loooove Comic books. My husband and I have a closet full of them. My favorite is Harley Quinn. She is my hero. I love RPG’s. I am getting antsy waiting for Fable 3 to finally come out. Also every Sunday is D&D day at our house. I kick butt as an assassin. I still maintain my girlishness by having pink and sparkly dice.

Well, I like to end these with a reminder to get out there and support your fellow geeks by buying their awesome stuff, so, umm, there’s your reminder!

Don’t forget, more content next week post-insanity! Pinky promise!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Budd
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 12:20:09

    loved the cufflinks. not sure I would buy something made of duck tape though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
