Geeky Etsy Finds 6-17-10

Another wonderful round of geek stuff to be found on Etsy. Support your fellow geeky crafters and check these out!

Scary White Girl Designs

Who doesn’t want cute crocheted stuff around their living space, that also happens to be in the shape of say, a dalek or mushroom? If you like geeky decorating, then this shop is a great place for you!

What do you make?

I make crocheted items of all sorts–geeky, morbid, and cute are my three favorite types. I have items related to several fandoms, severed heads and detached eyeballs, and cupcakes!

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

I started crocheting as a way to feel like I wasn’t wasting TOO much time watching movies and TV. Since I’ve been a geek since childhood, it was only natural that I’d lean toward making geeky things. I think my first official geeky crocheted item was a Jayne hat, and everything else has exploded out of that.

What makes your items great for geeks?

I have geeky items that will fit nearly any budget or any tastes. I’ve got stuff you can wear, and stuff you can put on your shelf to show off. If your preference runs toward something a little different from what all of the other geeks are wearing/displaying, I can probably help you out, either with something I already have made, or something we can come up with.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

A little bit of everything–pen and paper gaming, Firefly/Serenity, Battlestar Galactica,  Doctor Who, Star Wars, Star Trek… the list just keeps going.

.

Deadly Pretty

I love to wear geeky things, and if you do too, especially geeky jewelry, then this shop is for you! She has a ton of jewelry, some accessories, and other assorted geeky goods for you to look stylish and show off your favorite fandoms.

What do you make?

I mainly make jewellery and accessories inspired by various video games for girl gamers. I also have house decor items (pillows, quilts and ornaments) and some clothing. I’m currently working on a range of custom dolls for the survival horror fans.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

My name is Candeta, I’m from the UK and own Deadly Pretty Designs. I’ve always been a huge crafter back to when I was 6 years old (many moons ago) so it’s always been in my blood. I first started making stuff for myself and showing it on DeviantArt.com but I had so many people interested in my creations (at the time I was only doing art trades) that opening my own online store was the next obvious step.

What makes your items great for geeks?

The girl gaming world is growing rapidly and unfortunately a lot of the merchandise on offer doesn’t really cater to us. Who wants a big baggy t-shirt or your typical keyring? My wearable art is a perfect way to show off your love for a particular game or console, it’s cute, it’s sassy and very affordable. Not to mention that there isn’t a single fandom that I couldn’t make merchandise for and it’s a lot more original than the stuff you buy in the shops.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

I am a massive girl gamer and it was my love for the Resident Evil series which really got me hooked into making merchandise in the first place. Although I spend most of my time designing these days when I do get a spare hour or two I love to watch movies. I’ll pretty much watch anything once but if I love it you can be sure it will be on repeat for weeks until I know the whole movie by heart.

.

I may need to put some of these items on my Christmas list, love all of it! So, go, spend some money and get your geek on!

Leave a Reply

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
