Vampires: A Venn Diagram

I love vampires. No, really. I’ve read the entirety of the Anne Rice Vampire chronicles (that’s 12 books, and three more if you include the Mayfair Witches the crossover series). I read The Historian recently and loved it. I adored Forever Knight (and called him Nick Knight on 24). Although I have some personal issues with Buffy herself, the rest of her show isn’t too bad (I loved the Xander and Anya show!), and I liked Angel quite a bit. I wrote a vampire story for a fiction assignment in high school as well. Oh, and David Gerrold (my favorite sci fi author) has book about genetically engineered vampires in space: awesome.

Okay, maybe my thing for beautiful long-haired men helped a bit.

Anyway, where I am going with this. Well. I determined that Vampires can be easily represented by the following Venn Diagram.

I’m not going to say much more, except that vampires only require two very simple things to exist. All other permutations are acceptable. How come some people still can’t get them right?

I need to get into True Blood, btw, who wants to lend me the Season 1 DVDs/files?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aradia
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 18:00:21

    I have to say that as poorly written as the Twilight Saga is, I really thought the reason for avoiding sunlight was very original, and one of the best and most creative aspects of what was essentially Romeo and Juliet, with fangs. If only the movies had captured it better, instead of making him look like he’d been delicately sprayed by an over-zealous scrapbook enthusiast wielding a bottle of GlimmerMist.

    I disagree with your Venn diagram based on that alone. Perhaps we could replace ‘Sunlight Hurts’ with the other big vampy requirement- DEAD.

    Reply

  2. Aradia
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 18:01:00

    P.S. Mmmm, long hair on good-looking men. Mmmmmm.

    Reply

  3. Ruth
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 10:29:24

    Maybe there could be a third wheel for “Dead”? Otherwise you might get some people who are allergic to sunlight & have strange gustatorial choices. 😉 But I agree, I think sunlight needs to be a factor. The whole “creature of the night” thing. If vampires do get around during the day, the whole point is that it’s PITA for them.

    I’ve read the first three of Rice’s vampire novels.

    Reply

  4. girlsaregeeks
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 10:35:00

    I would be willing to throw in a third circle for dead, but I’m not giving on the sunlight. I mean. Vamps who consistently go out in the daylight? Give them another name or something! It just doesn’t fit in my head.

    Reply

  5. Jamila (@gurlgonegeek)
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 12:51:58

    I love vamps too! I tried to read some of Twilight but gave up bc of Meyers lame writing style. I totally agree with ur venn diagram and think sparkly vampires is something a 3 year old little girl would come up with, that might be insulting to 3 year olds.. I’ve read all 9 of Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse series which I’ve become dangerously obsessed over as well as True Blood which the books are based from. I recently wrote a post on 10 reasons to watch true blood which explains why it’s taken over my life. Sun= vampire dust. The end.

    Reply

  6. Jamila (@gurlgonegeek)
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 13:01:27

    You can’t watch TB because you dont have HBO? if so search through ovguide.com it’s like the google for online streamed ideos

    Reply

    • girlsaregeeks
      Jun 16, 2010 @ 13:13:29

      I don’t have HBO, I need to start at Season 1, and I won’t put money into it unless I’m convinced. I will check out that site though for streaming options.

      Reply

  7. filamena
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 14:33:54

    I love this site.

    But I have to say your diagram is off.

    Dracula, from Bram Stoker, could go out in the day time. He just didn’t have any powers. He’s about as vampire as you can get. (Similarly with Carmella, she was also a day walker, so to speak.)

    Reply

    • girlsaregeeks
      Jun 23, 2010 @ 17:19:11

      Okay, so maybe the sun thing does need a reword of some kind. Dracula was certainly “hurt” by sunlight though, because he was limited in his powers, doesn’t that count for something? My darling husband has also reminded me that (my current favorite show ever) Supernatural vampires can go out in the daylight – but they never do, so I tend to ignore that fact.

      Maybe it’s time for a submit your own Venn Diagram post!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
