Geeky Etsy Finds 6-10-10

Time for more Geeky Stuff on Etsy to fill your home and empty your pockets!

Geeky Clean

If you like all things geek and you like to be clean (and I hope most of us do!) then why wouldn’t you want to wash yourself off with soaps made in the shape of geeky things! Geeky Clean has an incredible assortment of things to keep you clean without having to compromise one second of your geekiness for the day! Personally, I love the idea of cleaning myself off with the answer to the question of life, the universe, and everything. Also, Geeky Clean just lost her day job, TODAY! So, please, go buy some soap and help her out!

What do you make?

I have a blast making “nerd-themed” soap and hygiene products for the geek in all of us. From DnD to World of Warcraft to Space Invaders, I make something for everyone!

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

I started Geeky Clean over a year ago after some close encounters with some smelly gamer guys.  I noticed our local game shop had a “funk” about it when you walked in the door.  Of course it didn’t take long to figure out that quite a few of the guys just didn’t care to take care of themselves very well.  It got me to thinking about what could be an incentive to get them to wash more.  A d20 die of course!  Thus began the fun process of pouring through my DnD handbook and coming up with soap ideas! Health and Mana bars were the first, soon followed by Barbarian Scrub.  Wil Wheaton made a tweet about it over the summer, and the site literally exploded!  It all kinda took off from there!

What makes your items great for geeks?

The best thing about Geeky Clean is that there is something for every kind of geek! Vampire Attractant for the Twilight fan. Dharma Initiative LOST soap, Tetra Soap for the old school gamer fan. Cure Light Wounds for the roleplayer, even a full set of 7 rp dice made of soap!  I am constantly coming up with new ideas, taking cues from pop culture, and keep people coming back to see what I’m up to.  It’s not uncommon for me to release a new soap a week.  My products are all Vegan and made individually by hand every day.  I recycle packing materials and try to keep things environmentally friendly ❤

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

I’ve always been kind of a dweeb.  I grew up watching Thundercats and GI Joe on Saturday mornings with my dad. (much to my mother’s dismay) I blistered my thumbs on my old school NES playing Kirby and Mario Brothers just like every other kid my age in the 80s.  Problem was I never really grew out of it.  I currently have 3 consoles hooked up to the TV, and play World of Warcraft with my husband about every evening after packing soap.  (Husband and I met in Middle School and fell in love after playing Golden Eye and Super Smash Brothers at age 14) We have a DnD group we meet with and a great group of nerdy friends.  We’re getting ready for GenCon, Indy in August where Geeky Clean will make it’s soapy debut! Here’s to hoping Geeky Clean will become a nerd-convention staple around the country!

.

Oldjunkyardboutique


i’m just gonna come right out and say it: Steampunk stuff looks really cool. I may not always love steampunk stories, though I do like many, but steampunk jewelry and accessories are just always begging me to wear. If you want a bit of steampunk on your person, your desk, or for your next cosplay, this is a great place!

What do you make?

We make Steampunk accessories and props. And all that what we have in our lab, we use to make steampunk accessories.

Who are you and/or how did you get started?

We are a family like you [the sisters of Girls Are Geeks]. My daughter won a competition at a convention, and we were inspired to make more costume accessories. It evolved into what it is today.

What makes your items great for geeks?

It’s part of a large fandom of Steampunks. You can find a lot of other people just like you who wear the same accessories, and you can feel like you’ll fit in with no problems.

What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?

Steampunk, Sci fi, Fantasy, Anime, Gothic, and other assortments of things, but that’s a few to name some.

Get out those credit cards and shop, that is, unless they have sparkly vampires on them … well, okay, we admit even Twilight fans should buy this stuff!

Leave a Reply

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
