Prince of Persia, Venn Diagram, and GIVEAWAY!

Because it is Friday, and Friday is awesome, this post contains a short movie review, two Venn Diagrams, and a GIVEAWAY! Did I mention awesome? Keep reading, learn how to win!

We used to live in a world that could be represented by this Venn Diagram:

But, with the release of Prince of Persia, we now live in the world represented by this Venn Diagram:

I saw the movie on Saturday with my husband, his friend, and said friend’s girlfriend. Both of the guys had played the Prince of Persia games, and all of us were well versed in the trauma that is video game movies (I got dragged to ALL THREE Resident Evil movies). All of us were pleasantly surprised that Prince of Persia was fun to watch and generally a pretty good, albeit not great, movie. Woohoo!

Here’s my quick review:

Stuff I Liked: The acting was generally good. I liked Jake Gyllenhaal and Gemma Arterton and I thought they played off each other well. Alfred Molina was unbelievably funny. It is a movie full of beautiful Persian Princes (I liked all three!). The sand effects were great. The character of Tamina is very Girls Are Geeks friendly. She’s a high ranking religious figure of sorts who has no problem tricking and knocking out the men around her to do what has to be done. She’s smart, funny, and doesn’t mess around. The story also flowed pretty well and the pacing of the movie was good, I never felt bored.

Stuff I I Didn’t Really Like: It was a predictable movie, and not just because I had watched a lot of it while my husband was playing the game. There was some really crummy CG, like funky looking snakes. The Sands of Time were not in an hourglass (okay, so I’m nitpicky sometimes). The action scenes were shot kind of funky, shaky cams and other stuff my husband can explain better than me, but not so easy to watch.

Overall: Definitely enjoyable, would even watch again!

.

Now, on to the good stuff.

.

We here at GirlsAreGeeks happen to have acquired some movie-related goodies that we imagine one of you would like!

.

A Tron/Prince of Persia Poster AND

An Ironman mousepad AND

A James Bond mousepad

.

Therefore we are going to randomly give these away to one of our readers! Here’s what you need to do to enter the contest:

To Get A Single Entry: Leave a comment here at the blog, with a working email address so I can contact you if you win! Tell me what video game movies you’ve seen and what you thought of them.

To Get A Second Entry: Tweet about the contest. Either retweet one of the Girls Are Geeks tweets about it or make your own tweet with @GirlsAreGeeks in it so I can track you. Make sure I can track you back to your blog comment so I have your email (like, having the same twitter name as you blog with or leaving your twitter in your blog post).

So you can get up to two entries in the giveaway! All entries will be numbered in the order I see them, and then a random number generator will choose the winner. Then, I will send you cool stuff!

The contest ends by 3am EST, so all you west-coast types have until midnight!

Okay. Comment. Tweet. Oh, and see Prince of Persia!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lorien
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 09:31:55

    I actually thought the Super Mario Bros. movie was alright. And Resident Evil wasn’t that bad either.

    Beyond that, not so much, but I’ve avoided most of them by default. Especially if Uwe Boll is involved!

    http://www.stopuweboll.org/

    We’re seeing Prince of Persia at the drive-in this weekend, sounds like there is hope! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ruth
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 11:38:04

    Ok, I’ve been brainstorming this one. I have to have seen more than Doom (friends, college, bored) but I can’t call any to mind right now. Doom wasn’t as bad as I thought it’d be.

    Oh, and Tomb Raider. Tomb Raider is actually pretty good as an action flick. Not going to win any awards, but the first one was a fun ride. The second was ok.

    Reply

  3. scarywhitegirl
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 11:39:00

    I’ve seen a couple of the Resident Evil movies (not the one with the birds, though, as I’m terrified of birds) and the Silent Hill movie. Now I’ve never played any of those games, but I enjoyed the Silent Hill movie enough to watch it more than once. 🙂

    Prince of Persia is coming to our local “drinks and a movie” place, so maybe we’ll have to get over there to see it. No movie can be bad if there’s sangria while you’re watching it. 🙂

    Reply

  4. @nerdsherpa
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 12:45:47

    Prince of Persia was pretty okay. I generally distrust movies that say their own name excessively. Especially in this movie, where they do it like six times, and keep adding this we-think-we’re-super-clever-pause. “A real prince… … …Of Persia.” (WINK WINK! SEE WHAT WE DID THERE?)

    Now, I liked the movie and all, but here’s what it really needed:

    A couple of long, wide shots of Jake Gyllenhaal doing rooftop parkour. Sure, there are like two quick-cut shots of his stuntman jumping between rooftops, but what would have really sold tickets would have been an extended rooftop chase scene on a huge amazing set with as few edits as possible. Show us the Prince (……of Persia) doing the stuff that makes the game fun. It’d make the movie more fun too.

    Reply

    • girlsaregeeks
      Jun 04, 2010 @ 12:48:35

      yeah, there wasn’t really enough of Daston doing the complex, gauntlet-like trap sequences from the game or the rooftop jumping. That would have been awesome.

      Reply

  5. Holly
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 14:06:41

    I thought the same of the action sequences in Prince Of Persia, they were nearly unenjoyable because of the camera work. I also thought that Jake wasn’t doing much in the way of acting, so much as giving puppy dog eyes in every close-up (though I can’t complain much about that really). I didn’t have huge expectations though, so I was pretty entertained, even by the cheesiness.

    I also rather like the Resident Evil movies, but the only RE game I’ve ever played was a few minutes of the RE5 demo.

    Reply

  6. GeekInsight
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 14:11:52

    I don’t understand why video game movies have to be so bad. The cynic in me believes that movie producers think to themselves, “Halo sold a bazillion copies. All we have to do is license the word Halo, schlock some stuff together, and we’ll make more than enough the opening weekend to recover our costs before everyone realizes how bad the movie is.”

    I think that’s part of it. But then I think about Harry Potter. They could have gone the same route, but instead they made pretty good movies. They didn’t just license the name and use cheap effects.

    Maybe its just that the hack hollywood writers can create a script out of a book, but have no idea how to do it with only a game as source material.

    Reply

    • girlsaregeeks
      Jun 04, 2010 @ 19:20:57

      That does seem to be the issue most of the time, doesn’t it. They expect the name to sell and don’t give a crap about the rest, or spend so much time on action that storyline and characters leave much to be desired. Maybe now, someone will feel the need to keep the good stuff up and it will get better and better!

      Reply

      • Geektastically
        Jun 04, 2010 @ 22:25:09

        I think why they tend to be so bad, is that the people making the movies know movies, and not what made the game as itself successful. The mechanics are quite different so what may have worked in the game to move the story alone, will not adapt as well in a movie..etc. No one is preparing for these things and treating it like it’s just another media form when it’s not.

  7. Audrey
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 22:12:05

    I can’t really think of a video game related movie that I loved. Unless The Last Starfighter counts. (Yes, I’m old.)

    I do wonder if it’s because video games tend to have such wretched stories or if screenwriters that write scripts based on video games tend to be such wretched writers.

    Reply

  8. Geektastically
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 22:23:12

    I really enjoyed the Silent Hill movie, and I’m sure that as a self professed SH fangirl this makes little sense. I read a lot of the comics before I went into the movies, and it’s really where I got the appreciation from it. The movie uses a lot of reference to the comic books.

    Although I would have liked it if they had played through one of the stories and stuck with it, SH is really a complicated game to make a movie adaption too. The best part of the game is the psychological thrills it gave the gamer. i think the movie did a decent job capturing the thrill aspect, some of the aspects of the movie wasn’t great but they did do a good job combining the great segments of the games and put it into one movie. I think it was cool how they tried to give you an idea of how the townspeople really are, even though the games are focused on the people. It was a neat angle.

    However, I can see why not everyone would have liked the movie. It’s really a matter of preference.

    Reply

  9. Colette181
    Jun 05, 2010 @ 11:08:39

    So, I know I’m late to the show here, but I still wanted to put my 2 cents in!

    I have to say that I spend a good part of my college days hooked on Resident Evil. So when the movies came out, they were not a disappointment.

    I’ve really enjoyed the Harry Potter series as a movie, but as a video game, I’m sorry to say that they are lacking! I’m of the same thought process as “Geekinsight” by thinking the VG producers (in this case EA Games) just took the name to generate the revenue and go from there. It really looks like they just threw something together!

    After the reviews of the Silent Hill game, I may just have to check that out next!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
