Geeky Etsy Finds 5-20-10

Another new feature for you this week is our Etsy finds. It turns out that many geeks, any especially geek girls, are pretty crafty and they like to sell their wares on Etsy. Therefore, we will provide you with a few options each week to improve the geekiness around and on you with these Geeky Etsy Finds!

Mad Scientist’s Lab


Whether you are actually a mad scientist, or just want to look like one for a while, these geekified lab coats are a great option! They can be used in the lab to show off your geekiness, as a simple cosplay, or perhaps even as a smock for you artsy types out there.

What do you make?
I handpaint lab coats with a variety of designs. I take custom orders, either based on suggestions in my shop, or something very specific to the scientist. For example, I made a lab coat centered around applesnails for an ecologist. I especially like those that I get to invent based on someone’s wants (for example, the design of the Bob-omb Squad coat). The paints I use and the way they are prepaired means that the researcher can machine wash them, so they are not only nice (I think πŸ˜€ ) but useful. I have plans to paint kitchen aprons as well.
Who are you and/or how did you get started?
I am a Ph.D. graduate student in Microbiology at the University of Massachusetts and a lover of all things geeky. As for how I got started on this project, it was a brain child based on a suggestion from a friend. As to why I started painting fabric… I just thought it would look cool. The first thing I did was a wall scroll that still hangs in my living room. The painted surface is 3×4 ft and it took me about 90 hrs of work time at least. Then, I decided to make one for a friend… then I decided maybe I could use this talent for the greater good ( πŸ˜€ ).
What makes your items great for geeks?
Well, I suppose among geek items, these lab coats are kind of specific. I mean, not all geeks are some form of scientist. However, it has come to my attention that most scientists are some form of geek. Even if it is not the traditional sci-fi or gamer geek, scientists tend to have an obsession of some kind and they also tend to hate the boring white of lab coats. So I figured it was worth a shot.
What sorts of geeky stuff are you into?
Simply put, I am unabashed of my inner geek. Perusing your blog, I found the continuum of geekdom. I think I fall in that middle bit there. I love playing piano, especially Debussy. I also love painting and drawing, especially characters from mine or other people’s stories. I love anime and go to cons occassionaly, once dressed as Rikku from FF10 and once as Count D from The Pet Shop of Horrors. Also, I am a Ph.D. student in Microbiology. ‘nough said on that front.

Here’s a picture of Rosalind and her husband in their competing company coats at PAX East.

And now, for our second shop of the day:

If you are a lover of video games, and have been for some time, you probably have a few favorite Nintendo characters. Well, this shop has lovingly taken those characters and given them a vintage look that would be just right framed and hung on your wall.

What do you make?
I make illustrations based on classic video game characters and printed on vintage book pages.

How did you get started?
I got started when my wife had a table at a local craft fair and needed me to sell some prints to take up some room on her table.

What makes your items great for geeks?

I think they’re great for geeks because they remind us of a simpler time. We’ve all loved video games for so long, sometimes we just like to be reminded of when we first fell in love with them.

What sort of other geeky stuff are you into?
What sort of geeky stuff am I NOT into? Seriously, name it and I’m all up in it!
There you have some great choices for adding new materials to your collection!
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    May 21, 2010 @ 11:05:28

    I love what people are putting out there on Etsy! πŸ™‚

    The vintage illustration shop is going on my wishlist, I’m not sure what I want yet but I do want more art.

    As for the lab coats…well, if I can come up with a reason to get one, then that might go on there too. If I end up working with old books in a library, that’d be a perfect reason. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Amy
    May 22, 2010 @ 15:32:02

    It’s so fun to browse the Geekery section of Etsy. I especially adore the vintage video game illustrations. More things for the wishlist!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
