How To Geekify Your Workout

Since when did being a geek immediately start bringing to mind a picture of an obese, sloppy guy in front of his computer? This poster of many geeks also contains a lot of potbellies. However, we here at Girls Are Geeks are anti-geek stereotypes, I mean, first of all, we are women, right? I also imagine that most of us care, just a bit at least, about our appearance. However, exercising takes time away from other geeky activies, like playing video games, and isn’t half as much fun as a rousing game of munchkin, right? Fortunately, I have some tips for improving the geekiness of your workouts.

A few years ago, me and my game-playing, snack-eating husband decided that we needed to get healthy. Five years and over 150 lbs lost between the two of us, we have come up with plenty of ways to make your geekiness and your workouts go hand in hand.

Play geeky music. Workouts move along much better to a good beat, for example, one produced by MC Frontalot. I also enjoy Birdhouse in Your Soul by TMBG, Creepy Doll by Jonathan Coulton, and who can forget The Distance by Cake. Grab your smallest, most up to date MP3 player, and hit the streets for a walk or run.

Use available technology. I am a Wii Fit girl. When I first bought it, I used it all the time, every day doing little exercises and yoga for stretching and working my way up through the runs. Right now, my fitness level is beyond the Wii Fit, but I still get on it every morning to weigh in. Knowing your weight can be an extremely important part of losing pounds, and for me, the Wii is accountability. When I haven’t weighed in after a few days, the balance board looks at me sadly and says “I haven’t seen you in 2 days!” which makes me not want to skip the next day. It also notices my weight gains and forces me to “Think about the causes” of this gain. I’m also a big graph person, and I love to analyze where my highs and lows have been and why. My husband doesn’t like the balance board, but he did buy Nike Plus to go with his iPod touch. That’s a program to keep track of your walking/running. He loves it because it gives him control over his distance, music, and tells him when he’s run his fastest mile or hit a new “level” in number of miles run. It also has cool graphs.

Work out to your favorite geeky show/movie. I do most of my workouts at home after dinner, and there is nothing more motivating to keep me moving then also watching my favorite shows. Sam and Dean Winchester for example, super motivation. I mean, they both look so great, so I keep telling myself I can do that too! I also workout to Lost, SGU, Caprica, and pretty much whatever else is on. My husband likes to work out to podcasts. He’ll turn on the podcast while he’s doing his push-ups and squats. Consider the show your reward for being good to yourself.

Create a geeky workout routine. If you are getting bored of the old routine, try something different. I like to play with dice. Pick a set of exercises (push-ups, squats, bicep curls, jumping jacks etc.) and then roll yourself a D20 (or a D10 if you are a beginner!) then do that many reps of each one. Roll again and keep on circuiting for about 20-30 minutes. You will definitely get quite a workout.

There, now you can get your geek on and eventually look pretty great doing so! Got any other Geeky ideas for improving your health? Anyone want to start an achievement for completing 50 push-ups or 100 sit-ups?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    May 17, 2010 @ 16:57:56

    I was thinking about writing a post about my geeky workout over the weekend. I think I shall! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: How To Have A Klingon Feast « Girls Are Geeks

Leave a Reply

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
