The Geek, Freak, and Nerd Continuum

Welcome to your Friday Venn Diagram post! Girls Are Geeks might be a little obsessed with Venn Diagrams, so expect to see many of them.

When I was in high school, I used to tell people that I was a band geek and a drama freak. What? All my friends were too, so it’s not like I cared what other people thought of me. I also noticed that I was a bit of a nerd, like in an advanced program called Medical Sciences and skipping pre-calculus, yeah, that kid-who’s-a-year-ahead-but-still-ruining-the-curve, that was me.

Anyway, jump ahead, and we here at Girls Are Geeks have noticed that most of the geeks we know are far more than just geeks in the classic sense. By classic sense, I’m going to use the gaming and fantasy type geek here. I recognize the word is far more inclusive. Another topic for another post (I’m going to need an acronym for that soon, ATFAP, dude, awesome). Okay, back on topic. We are also often terribly nerdy in the academic sense and also living in our little freaky artistic worlds.

So, combine these interesting thoughts with a four hour wait to see Wil Wheaton give the keynote at PAXEast, and you get a Venn Diagram. Oh, yeah, we here at Girls Are Geeks are also a bit obsessed with Venn Diagrams. This is how you end up with the Geek, Freak, and Nerd Continuum.

Turns out that quite a few of us fall in various places on this lovely continuum. Dawn, for example, is a biomedical photographer, placing her squarely between nerd and freak.

I, Rosalind, fall firmly in the center of the continuum. I am a microbiologist by day, a D&D player by night, and a musician and composer in my free time (free time? What’s that?). I can, and do, proudly claim all three titles.

Here’s another of my favorite continuum center examples: Jonathan Coulton. Still Alive is about science, in a video game, and a song. That’s an awesome center mark right there.

As for the people who don’t fall on the continuum, well, they probably wouldn’t be half as amused by it all as we are, right?

Where do you fall? Maybe we can take a poll and I can make a corrected one with size proportions and everything! Did I mention the nerd part?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jonathan Liu
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 17:14:55

    How about an embroidered temari ball based on Settlers of Catan? Where does that put me? 🙂
    http://www.rainybayart.com/archives/2009/12/settlers_of_cat.php

    Reply

    • girlsaregeeks
      Apr 02, 2010 @ 18:44:54

      That’s awesome! I would say that definitely puts you on our Venn diagram for sure, probably right between geek and freak. However, that doesn’t rule out your nerd potential too.

      – Dawn

      Reply

  2. Emmi
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 14:51:26

    Yeah, the “Hey that’s me!” bit would be me. 😀 I’ve been called all three, and take pride in it.

    Have you ever encountered shock when you tell people you’re PROUD to be one of those things? None of my family can quite wrap their minds around it.

    Reply

  3. Rosalind
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 15:05:27

    Sometime in high school I finally embraced being a band geek and a drama freak, and life has been much better and geekier since. Though, yes, I still get funny looks from some people. I’m not sure my mother will ever fully embrace that she raised a houseful of geeks (though, she married one, so it shouldn’t be that strange!).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
